Enigma Rooms Wakefield: Séance

By | March 20, 2019

by Enigma Rooms Wakefield (website)

8-10 Teall St, WF1 1PT

01924731489

Wakefield

2-6 players

60 minutes

Tabitha was a sickly child, but her mother would do anything to protect her, anything to save her but the deal she made did not work out as planned and now she is lost.THIS GAME INCLUDES GENUINE ARCANE ARTIFACTS, RELIGIOUS AND DEMONIC SYMBOLS AND RITUALS. PLAYERS SHOULD EXPECT JUMP SCARES AND FLASHING LIGHTS!! 18+ RATING!!
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 40 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 10 users
combined with 1 pro review

Your review

Player reviews

Ladylusiphur rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 2 Jul 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 45.00 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenintense🧟terrifying

I'd wanted to play this room for a long time based on excellent reviews that i've seen, and it didn't disappoint. It's probably the most immersive escape room we've ever done, and definitely worth the reputation. 

Firstly, it's scary. I consider myself to be quite a down to earth person, and jump in the right places, but generally laugh it off afterwards. This room though, it turned me into a nervous wreck! haha. I don't know if it's the build-up, or excellent decor, but as the scares built, I just got more and more 'in the zone', and probably screamed more than I ever have in my life! It's all in good fun though, the screams are usually followed by laughter, and a bigger determination to follow through with the story. 

The puzzles are also excellent. I'd say pretty much all of them keep to the theme, and help to tell the story of the seance. You feel like a character trying to banish demons rather than a regular person off the street just solving puzzles. The props and clues all fit in to build that. 

We didn't find it too tricky, but I think it's about at the right level. You need to think, but if you're spending too much time scratching your head it would take you out of the experience. We ended up getting one hint, but that was just to help us find something we already knew we needed but just had a little trouble pinpointing it due to the dim light. Otherwise everything flowed beautifully. 

Can't praise the GM enough, he really set the scene and played his part well. The room also has a private waiting room that's mostly in theme, so if you need a break from the scares you can pop out without completely losing the magic.  Thankfully we didn't need to but the option is there. 

matt_keds experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 26 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 44:44 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenintense👻scary

#76

Never thought I’d love a horror room as much as I did this! Firstly, the host was incredible, stayed in character throughout the experience. The puzzles weren’t too difficult but due to the immersion and creepy factor we were glad of that! One particular moment if the most I’ve jumped in my whole life, this is a whole hearted recommend. Loved it and can’t wait to see what they do next.

LockAndMe rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 22 May 2022 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingintense👻scary

May I start this review by first saying, I hate scary rooms. I'm not a fan of being scared, or anything like that, however, despite this, the room has had amazing reviews, and I couldn't not give it a go. 

The host was amazing, really set the scene, his constant nervous demeanour throughout the brief, was perfect...I mean, it made me more nervous, but still, great. Then we got into the room, it wasn't very small, but the shape and layout of the room really plays to the theme, and helps set you up for the scared feeling inside. 

Now, I wont spoil this room, the things happen that you'd expect from a horror themed room, and is done in both simple and clever ways. I will say that a lot of escape rooms with horror themes usually focus on the scaring, and darkness more than the puzzles. Not the case with this room, although there was scaring and darkness, the puzzles were perfect, all different kinds, and challenging without being impossible. 

We managed to escape, I have not stopped talking about this room since. I don't think I will change, and start playing more and more scary rooms, but this one was absolutely worth playing, and I understand why it has the high reviews it has. 

Highly recommend. 

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 14 May 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46:37 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingintensequite difficult👻scary

Loved this escape room, from the host Kieran setting the scene to all the jump scares 🙂 Def the best escape room I've done ... Would Def recommend if you like horror films x

Pagan Hollis experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 1 May 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 49:07 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingintense🧟terrifying

I adore horror escape rooms  and this room has taken the top spot for me! Kieran,  our host, set the tone immediately and made the room stand out for me. He was brilliant in his timing, his scares, everything! Beautiful set, great puzzles. Thoroughly enjoyed it. 

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 33:40 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hosting👻scary
Sabrina (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 33:40 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingintense🧟terrifying
Houdini rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 3 Apr 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 32 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingintensequite difficult🧟terrifying

This was an intense, edgy, well put together escape room. Although we did the room quickly it didn't feel quick - we were just relieved to put the lights back on to dissipate the fear and tension. Really well explained, and organised the room was interesting without anything too obvious to set us on our way. The additional element of fear introduced by 'additional' elements was awesome! Highly recommended but not for those of a faint heart!

Dan Taylor rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 18 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 32:46 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingintense👻scary

Wow! Before you even enter the room you’re already on edge. When you get in the room it takes you a moment to get to grips with your surroundings as it looks stunning. Incredibly immersive and great set design. This room is definitely not for the faint of heart! A lot of moments that were dealt with by screams or shouts followed by lots of laughter! And on top of the set and atmosphere, the puzzles themselves were really fun and still made you think

Moosehead expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 46 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
originalclevergreat hosting

This was the first truly scary room that we have done, and it was so much fun!  We were screaming and laughing the whole time.  The puzzles were inventive and very cleverly done.  A must play!

Reviews by escape room review sites

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also