Extremescape: Lost Tomb

By | March 20, 2019

by Extremescape (website)

Stanley Hall Farm, Stanley Hall Lane, SK12 2JX

Disley

2-8 players

90 mins
We built The Pirate Ship after playing only 4 escape rooms and we wanted to put our own stamp on “Our Escape Room” .
To our surprise The Pirate Ship was unbelievably well received and the reviews have been fantastic, better than we ever imagined.
The pressure was on, our next room had to be as good, if not better than The Pirate Ship. It took nearly a year to build, it is heavily themed, exciting, interactive, immersive and a real live adventure.
Your team of adventurers & archeologists, enter an abandoned gold mine in the heart of the Mexican mountains, your mission is to find the hidden gold.
Legend says that the holder of the hidden gold of El Narangel will find the Lost Tomb.
The miners left subtle clues & hints, if you use all your skills you may find the hidden gold and ultimately the Lost Tomb but be careful they the miners won’t give up their gold easily.
The Lost Tomb is now open.
Come and see for yourselves,
Good Luck
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 40 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 17 users
combined with 8 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Adam Bravery experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 30 Jun 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 56:17 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalquite difficult

Cracking design for this room with some awesome elements I hadn't seen in other games. Found it a bit harder than the pirate ship, a few more moments of wondering what to do next but GM was always on hand to nudge us in the right direction. Particularly enjoyed the riddle in the first section 

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 18 Oct 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 77:56 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-driven
Joe Brown expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 22/6/19 Team size: 4
Nice sets, some cool props and puzzles, but a couple of technical problems let down this experience. Great room if you're in the area but we'd travelled far to come so it was a little overhyped!
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Laura McGill expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 27/09/2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 75:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 11/10/2020 Team size: 3 Time taken: 65 Outcome: Successful escape!

I don't really know where to start on this on this game. 

I guess ill start with first impressions. The opening scene was great with a great special effect (or 2) and moving into the second room was also rather on point on looked great. It was a large space, open game play and clear direction. Some enjoyable puzzles, great tech usage and sense of humour.

That being said, I had to deduct 2 half stars 

- I deducted the first half star for consistent theming. This was a room of 2 halves (and a bit extra). Both great theming in their own rights but i felt the theming from the first room was not carried into the second room. Moving from a Mediterranean mine into an Egyptian style tomb was a little erratic 

- The finale was a little bit of a let down. Despite great fun in the rooms, the final door opened into another room, we had a quick look around only to come to the realisation that the room we had just moved into was actually just a back office area and wasn't part of the game. No real sense of achievement and we kind of just waited around until the GM master came in to de-brief us.

These are only minor elements and i would still highly recommend playing this game and indeed playing all 3 games at Extremescape

Lise Mortier expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2019 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

After escaping from the Pirate Ship and a quick lunch in the village of Disley, we attempted our escape from the Lost Tomb. We escaped in a bit more than an hour (as this room as well offers a 90 minutes escape limit) with 0 clues asked (but still some hints from our game master). Just like their other room, the Lost Tomb put you straight into immersion with an 'introduction room' that is very very effective and the puzzle to get out of it is really smart! But it's only once you enter the 'real' room that you are in for a Wow factor thanks to the brilliant props and original decors of the room. The clues and hints are once again given via a pre-recorded voice actor that would slightly remind you of Indiana Jones: you put your finger somewhere you shouldn't and you will hear him say "This is not going to help", suggest a solution to a puzzle and you will hear him say something like "Good thinking, cowboy". This really makes you stay immersed and focused on your escape. We also really appreciated the little spooky touches that will make you jump and smile as well as the full attention to details partially thanks to the help of ingenious DIY. Just like in the Pirate Ship, one puzzle was really maths-heavy and you would need someone in your crew that is good with numbers to make sure you don't get stuck. Luckily our crew have a wild range of talents :D. This wasn't too much of a buzzkill as the rest of the puzzles in the room were very clever and hands-on. The room was still relatively lock-heavy but thanks to the variety and interactivity of the puzzles, it didn't feel like a burden. The reveals and surprises along the way are very exciting too and it's always a pleasure to escape from a room in which the entrance door is not the exit door. Well done Extremescape! We are looking forward to try their future Vikings room and if you are in the area or planning a weekend away, I would highly recommend heading there! The surroundings cities really allow a great weekend for walks, food (and escape rooms). 😉

Ronnie Meade experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 5 Dec 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 64:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
funnycleverimmersive

Is Carlsberg did openings to an escape room, this would be it... A simplistic riddle to get your brain ticking with a theatrical transition to enter the mine that will put a smile on every players face! The room design and themeing are  and immerses you in to your game. The puzzles will rack your brains, we were kicking ourselves at one particular element that we acted like escape room experts rather than seeing it for what it was but this was testament to the room and variety in puzzles. A little surprise added humour and a jump element to the room. The next transition was also clever and stayed on theme. The last puzzle wasn't as epic as vikings but overall an outstanding experience! 

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 12/02/16
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 18 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting
Once again terrific theming and solid puzzle design (with some incredible physical effects) create an incredible game.  The puzzle flow is mostly non-linear in nature and will test your searching, observation and deduction skills.  I think the puzzles in the second half let the room down slightly but it’s still of a high standard and still very much worth your time.
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Extremescape's first game was a big, brilliant pirate game. Their second is loosely inspired by Indiana Jones, and it somehow manages to be even better. Like Pirate Ship, Lost Tomb is a 90 minute game. Where Pirate Ship injects a moment or two of unexpected theatricality, Lost Tomb has a succession of them.
The game starts in a relatively small space, with the team instructed to find a way in an abandoned gold mine, and subsequently to recover each of a set of bags of gold. From the outset the ...
The set is stunning, the puzzles are enjoyable, the theatrical moments are fantastic and, to top it off, the couple who run it are a great pair of hosts. If you're ever in the area, and by that I mean the UK, you should head over here for 90 minutes of pure joy.
Tomb Raiding Adventures are perhaps my favourite type of escape, and The Lost Tomb at Extremescape sits amongst some of the best I have ever played. While I can’t really choose which of the three games at Extremescape is the “best,” this is without a doubt my personal favourite.

I loved this room. It felt like there was a lot to do, with plenty of elements and things to discover. Discovering the temple with only 30 mins left was definitely panic-inducing, but added a bit of pressure. I highly recommend this room to anyone!

And location is more relevant than you might think for Lost Tomb, as the game itself takes places in what seem to be some old underground caverns carved out of rock. It does mean that they’re halfway to that Lost Tomb aesthetic already, but it’s impressive nonetheless.
Another wonderful game by Extemeescape. It’s clear that they have learnt over time and having played all of their games there is clear development from Pirate Ship to Lost Tomb and ultimately Vikings. This is truly a 90 minute game. I dare say that very few will complete this in less than the standard 60 minutes unless they are a large VERY experienced group. It’s safe to say that Extremescape don’t build easy rooms but no matter, they are all worth playing as they are examples of some of the best in the country. 

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review expert

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also