Tulleys Escape Rooms & Games: SpellCraft

By | March 21, 2021

by Tulleys Escape Rooms & Games (website)

Turners Hill Road, Turners Hill, RH10 4PE

Crawley

2-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

The SpellCraft twins, Evilinda & Spellinda, two witches, two paths, two shops, two worlds, two journeys, their two magical worlds collide, and you find yourself in the middle of their story. 

 

SpellCraft will take you on a magical adventure, you'll need to work together, but in the end there's always a battle, will you escape and who will win?

show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 46 users
combined with 5 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Barry Hammond expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 18/07/2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 39.29 Outcome: Successful escape!
jakea256 expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
originalgreat hostingmagical

Everything about this room was just so cool! One element in particular really took me by surprise and is one of my all time escape room highlights. All the puzzles were really fitting with the theme and it truely felt like an adventure. Our host Michelle was superb and even showed us the behind the scenes control room afterwards! Fascinating to play and then see how it all works.

flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hostingmagical

What a beautiful room!

This game is set across a large space and pitches your team against each other on a couple of light hearted occasions. 

The puzzles were nice with a good level of challenge at times. 

Our host was lovely, she really set the scene and made us all at ease from the very start. 

This is a great game for families as I'm sure kids would be in awe at the magic and mystery in this game. 

RR_Duo+ rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 26 Aug 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
PurpleB expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulfamily friendlymagical

It's Tulleys so obviously the set was absolutely amazing.  This was actually my least favourite of their rooms from a puzzle perspective though - not particularly original and one I'd label as tedious.  But still very enjoyable.

imrahil experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

Aazing set (as you'd expect from Tulley's), but not their strongest from a puzzle stand point. Love a magic theme though, lost a lot of time waving a wand about. 

KazKew rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: April 2022 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenmagicalquite difficult

The sets are amazing! You feel as if you are entering a whole other, magical world. There is quite a lot to solve, and some puzzles were on the tricky side for our, fairly inexperienced, team, but this didn't detract from the sheer enjoyment of the whole experience. Highly recommended! 

FranklyOscar experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
cleverepic
magicalbacons expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
beautifulmagicalbroken techquite difficult

Stunning room design but with some broken bits of tech (our gm had to pop in at one point as something didn't open that should have and had to give us an answer to another puzzle as the puzzle mechanics weren't working as they should).

We knew it would be a challenge as 2 players, but even with prompts from our gm (we said we didn't care how many hints so long as we made it through) we were only able to make it 75% of the way through. 

Our GM somewhat reassured us (if that's the right phrase) that no team of 2 has ever completed Spellcraft, so do be aware of that even if you're an experienced team of 2!

😺Lianne experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 12 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivebroken tech

Spellcraft has the feel of a kiddie/family friendly room, but don't be fooled. There's a whole lot going on, and in true Tulley's style, each room feels like a Tardis as it unfolds. We were a team of two, so we knew it would be tough - but we were definitely disadvantaged by not having more bodies in the room working on puzzles simultaneously where possible. 

Some of the puzzles were quite abstract and perhaps a bit random - which made me wonder how many teams find and get through them by themselves without clues. Our GM did a good job of chivvying us along to try to stop us falling too far behind - but he did have to shortcut us around a few bits of broken tech. Overall a lot of fun, with great set design, but quite a lot to take on for a small team!

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Spellcraft is the fifth of Tulley’s full-size escape games, and shares much with the first four: it’s huge and impressive and slick, and packed with enough puzzles that even experienced teams will have to scramble to complete it in time. But while the house style and quality remains a constant, the company continues to try new things with each new game.

The first surprise was to find that we’d be divided into two groups, working for good or evil respectively. An escape room is a fundamentally c...

Yesterday was finally the day of our Tulleys marathon. We played Mutiny, Spellcraft, Dodge City and Nethercott Manor in that order (unfortunately we haven’t played Outfitters). I will focus mostly on Spellcraft, since it was the one that has blown our minds the most, but I will use this review as an excuse to talk a bit about each game. For those that want some tldr version – Tulleys is the place to go in UK and Spellcraft is the room to play in my opinion.
The magic added something to the immersion. Nethercott is possibly still my favourite, and Mutiny might still be Liz’s, but objectively SpellCraft might be one of Tulleys best. The magical elevator taking us places, and then revisiting other rooms, and the twistyness of everything gave it a level of mystique

However, it was unlike any magic room I’ve done before, and has truly earned its place at the top of many lists. Firstly, you can tell from the waiting area that the set and story are going to be completely different from any other magic room. There are no “wizard school” or 4 “magical houses” that happen to be primary colours…

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • My Top 10 Games by jakea256 expert
    Unordered list of my favourite games in just shy of 200 as of 5/1/24.

See also