Break Escape Loughborough: The Enchanted Forest

By | March 20, 2019

by Break Escape Loughborough (website)

58/59 Baxter Gate, LE11 1TH

Loughborough

2-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

๐Ÿถ๐Ÿ‘ถ
It is rumoured that a strange portal that leads to another realm has been discovered. This other realm is under the control of the Evil Enchantress, and the forest slumbers. Can you find your way into the portal, wake the forest from its deep sleep, and find the Mystic Blue Crystal before the Evil Enchantress uses its power to bring about an everlasting era of darkness.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:





If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Promotional offer

This offer is only available to Escape The Review patrons (Enthusiast tier or higher)

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 27 users
combined with 6 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

spbc expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalillogicalconfusing
Pagan Hollis experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 6 Dec 2023 Team size: 5 Time taken: 22:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hostingmagical
๐Ÿ”James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 12/10/2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 47:23 Outcome: Successful escape!
With a superb start that leads you to the main room, a non-linear design, wonderful theming, this is easily my favourite room at Break Escape.
๐Ÿฆกcipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Sharon Nowik experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: September 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 56 Outcome: Successful escape!
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivequite difficult

Definitely recommend for a group of people rather than a pair! Setting is great and very unique, with lots of creative quirks. Good fun. 

We were a bit overwhelmed by how completely non-linear it was, and the GM kept stopping us to explain the puzzles and check if we were right/wrong, which wasn't great. 

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 04/11/18
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 16 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 33:35 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersive
jakea256 expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 12 Feb 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 42 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hosting

Loved the unique elements of this game and the way the designers have managed to create a real Narnia feel inside! Lots to do and it is very easy to get distracted by things that won't help towards the overall goal. Only gripe is that most of the room is not automated so the GM has to trigger the next steps manually. That being said still very enjoyable!

fraggle42 experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 27 Feb 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
AdamEscapes rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 10 Feb 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 37:00
beautifulimmersive
Sabrina (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 16 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 33:35 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalgreat hosting
Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 38.56 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalmagical

One of the most superb starting sections to a game that we've seen; there is a real magic to this game that begins straight away. It's a lovely concept and design that feels really immersive. It's very GM-run and the interaction is very in keeping with the theme. Some nice puzzles and generally a really good time spent in the forest.

The Monkey expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
magical

Personally couldn't fault the room. Non linear. Original. Fun. If you don't like this room, what's wrong with you!

Steph Norchi experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 9 May 2024 Team size: 5 Time taken: 40:59 Outcome: Successful escape!
family friendly
The start of this room was great fun and a lovely surprise! Visually the theming in here was good and it would be a fantastic room for young enthusiasts and families. But ultimately it was just a typical UK chain room. 
Unfortunately, I found the room to be a bit too much of a "puzzle dump". I've seen the non-linear style done very well before, but here it was just a bit to chaotic. The majority of puzzles were all available from the start, scattered around the room (including optional puzzles), so everyone split up and it didn't really feel like a team game because everyone was doing their own thing. Because of this, there was no flow to the room and it lost a lot of immersion. 
According to the website you can have up to 8 people in this room, but we were treading on each other's toes with a group of 5. The starting area especially would be like sardines with more people, although you're not in there for long, it would be very tight.
We also lost a lot of time due to poor set-up. As we eventually worked out that the padlocks had been put on the wrong boxes so if a code isn't working, try it on other matching locks in the room. I think some puzzles also need a slight re-think as things like riddles can have multiple solutions. 
Overall, it's a good room for families and beginners but as an enthusiast I wanted more from it.
TheSinger expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

Amazing, immersive and a great use of the space. The beginning of the game is fantastic, canโ€™t really say much more without giving too much away, but it was soo much fun. 

If I was to have any criticism, the โ€œmagicโ€ element of it could have been achieved a little smoother as at times we could hear the GM behind the walls switching switches and levers etc and it broke the magic a little. The room is full of wow moments and the clue system is great and in theme with the room. Enjoyed it thoroughly 

Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalimmersivequite difficult
Lotsa Locks experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 21 Jan 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 51:55 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverepicmagical
AubreyB expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
Speedy Sloth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
beautifulimmersivemagical
๐Ÿค˜The Pick of Destiny expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 3
originalimmersivefun
Anonymous experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
puzzlepalooza experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
beautiful

What an amazing start to the game!
Really enjoyed this. Great theming and lots of puzzles. A bit heavy on the searching, but we knew that in advance (thanks EtR!) so bought our A game and it was fine.
Break Escape seem to be a bit below the radar for some reason, but if all the games are as good as this I'll be back to play the rest!

escapeartist1212 expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
beautifulimmersive
liam and rosie experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
A Blacksmith expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 23 Mar 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 35:41 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfamily friendlymagical
A really solid room with a slippery start. Great for families, would recommend. 
Escapetopus experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 18/09/2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 70:51 Outcome: Failed ๐Ÿ™

Slightly mixed feelings on this one. There was a nice start to the room and the decor was well done with a great sense of magic and enchantment. Some of the puzzles were very fitting with the theme, others less so, although overall if you're a fan of the Narnia books you'll find plenty to delight you here. There are a lot of puzzles - including some tricky bonus puzzles - and the game is mostly non-linear, making it a great choice for a larger group as there's a lot of stuff that can be done all at once.

With only two people, it was a struggle! There was just so much to tackle, and no obvious order to it, so we got a bit overwhelmed and went ten minutes over time (kudos to Owen our GM for letting us complete the room despite running over!). There were a couple of places where I felt that what was needed to be done was not very logical, and there was one puzzle in particular we found very frustrating. It's a big puzzle that relies on skill in a way that we found very fiddly and time-consuming, and we kept on expecting to find something that would make it easier - only to realise that no, you do just need to do it in the fiddly and time-consuming way. With a larger group this wouldn't have been so much of an issue, but with a pair it just took too long.

Therefore, I hesitate to recommend this room if you've only 2 players, even if you're fairly experienced. For a group of 4 or 5, however, I think it would be great.

Reviews by escape room review sites

Some game reviews are straightforward to write, others are not; this is one of the tricky ones. But letโ€™s start by saying Enchanted Forest is Break Escapeโ€™s fourth and newest (so far) room, and places you in a magical snowbound forest which contains no direct references to the Narnia books but which is nonetheless a clear and affectionate homage to them.

A nice opening sequence leads dramatically into the main part of the game. Iโ€™ll avoid details, but at this point Iโ€™d been completely won over,...

An enchanting game with a memorable start that throws you right into the heart of a beautiful fantasy world. Plenty of logical puzzles and little to frustrate plus some bonus challenges to keep more experienced teams occupied.
I donโ€™t know if it was because we were tired or hungry, but we struggled to click with this game. It was pretty and impressive, but the puzzles, particularly the search element, just left us feeling deflated.
A nicely themed game packed with puzzles and sporting the start to an escape game that Iโ€™ve long been waiting for.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also