Escapologic Nottingham: Immaterium

By | April 26, 2021

by Escapologic Nottingham (website)

21 Castle Gate, NG1 7AQ

2-5 players

Team of 2: Β£60.00
Team of 4: Β£70.00

Languages: EN

πŸ“Ήremote avatar
Winner of a 2021 TERPECA award
Passengers on pilgrimage aboard a trader ship, Evadere The Tempestas, on course to holy Terra. Pilgrims have been escorted to their quarters deep within the bowels of the vessel, upon entering they are told the ship will soon translate into the warp and the journey will begin. The ship stirs into life, players hear a distant rumble and feel a faint vibration as the engines wake. As the warp jump is made, the warp core and several ship systems fail, causing massive damage to the craft. Players have no choice but to leave and find out what has happened or risk being trapped in the crew quarters while the ship is slowly torn apart. Here the real journey begins... battle through the Warp Storm and escape the ever seeping Chaos.Created in conjunction with Games Workshop, Immaterium is a simultaneous cooperative team experience. For the first time ever, players will be able to jump into the world of Warhammer 40,000 and experience its myriad dangers for real. They will touch, smell and feel all areas of the ship and everything on it – including a talking Servitor. Up to five people at a time can immerse themselves in Immaterium, and explore the deepest recesses of a star-faring vessel facing imminent doom.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 35 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 14 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

msilcox experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 27 Nov 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 57 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersiveintense😨creepy

This must be an absolutely amazing game to do in person.  The set is remarkably immersive. All of the detail made the translation to online a bit difficult--there were a lot of elements that were purely set dressing that made finding those elements you could actually interact with a bit frustrating.  An enjoyable experience nonetheless, with a delightful absence of combination locks.  Totally playable by those without knowledge of Warhammer.

🦑cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
beautifulimmersivestory-driven

Visually amazing, and not just for warhammer fans! The immersion in this room is off the scale, even areas which you do not actively interact with have been build with so much attention to detail that you will stop your avatar to give you a closer look. Puzzle wise theres not a huge amount to do, but that gives you time to enjoy the immersion and get more involved with the storyline. It really is a must do game. 

πŸ”James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 6 May 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 43:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven

Just stunning

https://www.escaperoomers.de/reviews/immaterium/

magicalbacons experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulhi-techimmersivequite easy

If you love warhammer, then you'll adore this game! 

No expense has been spared in the creation of the game, it is a visual feast from start to finish. The level of detail in the rooms decor is absolutely outstanding. We were lucky enough to get to test play the online avatar version of the game and we both agreed that we wanted to crawl through our screens and experience the game in person (thanks covid). 

Our avatar was great, he stayed in character throughout the game and offered small hints when we weren't sure quite what to do next. 

As an escape game, the game isn't too puzzle heavy and the puzzles that are there aren't too challenging, but the overall experience makes up for any downfall on that part. 

Overall, the game is a fantastic experience that I would certainly recommend to any scifi fans or gamers wanting to try a different kind of game! 

EireBanshee expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: May 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersive

A fantastic immersive experience in an impressive set.  Very light on puzzles, so not necessarily the best match for an online game, but we were very impressed and had a great experience.

Tim Cooper expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 26 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalimmersivequite easy
Laura McGill expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 1 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 45:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalimmersive
Exotic Turtle rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 27/06/2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 45 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyimmersiveepic😨creepy

My favourite room thus far!!!!!

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 27 Jun 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 45 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersiveepic

WOW.

This game is something else. Yet again, the Escapologic team have created something truly magical. 

From start to finish the immersion was phenomenal. 

My only issue is I now don’t know if this or curio is my favourite room. 

A true masterpiece that will have you occupying every inch of the room and will keep you going for sure. 

FANTASTIC 

🌡Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 8 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulhi-techoriginalquite easy

The set for this is fantastic, multiple spaces with high attention to detail and a variety of special effects to be enjoyed. It isn't a classic escape room per se in that there are not lots of puzzles to work out but it is immersive and I can see in terms of development how this is one direction ERs could go. Definitely requires physical agility by all team members. I am not familiar with Warhammer so didn't get any added satisfaction that way but can't say it mattered to me in terms of experience. 

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Immaterium delivers a gritty but pretty set with fun, physical puzzles, although be prepared for that lack of user feedback to potentially leave you frustrated. I’d recommend it to anyone who’s in Nottingham, but especially Warhammer or sci-fi fans or those who like physical challenges.
Possibly one of the most visually stunning games that we have ever played. Ok, the puzzles didn’t particularly click with us but that won’t stop us recommending this game. Make sure you stretch before you play, you need to be quite mobile as you navigate around the ship.
This room will thrill any Warhammer fan of course, but also any general sci-fi fan, or anyone who has ever thought they would love the chance at escaping from a perilous situation (whilst never actually being in danger!) or looking for a very atmospheric room with some clever tasks and surprises. It does call for some dexterity as well as climbing and crawling, so a great one for kids just don't wear your best trousers!!

See also

Other versions of this game:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)