Clockwork Escapes Telford: The Legend of Foole’s Gold

By | June 26, 2021

by Clockwork Escapes Telford (website)

F5, Halesfield 23, Telford TF7 4NY

Telford

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

Old Man Foole has died and left behind a wealth of riches,
buried deep in his mine.
The Professor would like you to… acquire some of it.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 26 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Petrina Deakin rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 26 Nov 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
immersiveepicquite difficult
TSmalls rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 1 Apr 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingintense

We really enjoyed that there was a different points system other than time. Our host did incredibly, especially considering he had to run 2 rooms in tandem. They did well to have a variety of puzzles as well as a good atmosphere. Would definitely recommend! 

Exotic Turtle experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 03/07/2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 59 / 24.5k Gold Outcome: Successful escape!
immersiveintensedangerousquite difficult
Laura McGill expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 4 Sep 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalimmersive
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 15 Sep 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58:00 / 17,280 Gold Outcome: Successful escape!
immersiveintense
matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 27 Feb 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 50/60 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersiveintensepractical effectquite difficult

#48

This was a fantastic experience! From the moment you are in the room you are immersed, and from there it just keeps expanding. Very original, the practical effects and decor of this room are on a par with, if not exceeding Viking at Extremescape. A few really unexpected turns and surprises, we would be completing one puzzle and genuinely be unsure what we were about to put into motion.

An added bonus of this room is that as you are collecting gold AS WELL  as trying to solve puzzles and try to escape, you can finish before you have completed EVERYTHING - therefore our host didn’t let us out when we enabled escape, but instead encouraged us to search high and low for every last shiny piece.

Again, brilliant hosting here, the one criticism is that it was rather dark to start with in the mine, but your eyes do adjust in time. We both came out genuinely gutted it was all over. 

Current top 5:

1. Viking - Extremescape

2.  Mr Copplestone’s Curiosity Shoppe - Escape Quest

3. UI-55 - Compendium

4. The Legend of Foole’s Gold - Clockwork Escapes

5. Spellbound - Make Your Escape

Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 23,300 gold Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivegreat hosting

Absolutely brilliant! Great physical puzzles and the concept of collecting gold and escaping really works. It's dark in the mine but it only adds to the atmosphere! Great hosting from the moment we walked in.

This is just a top class escape room.

Joe Brown expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 11 Oct 2022 Team size: 3
really unusual set - fun game mechanics, and lots of surprises and new to me puzzles, we had a great time.
Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingintense

Such a unique mechanic for the game, a thoroughly great game!

nicegirl4u rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 26 Nov 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 60 Outcome: Failed 🙁
cleverintenseepicquite difficult
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Any visit to Clockwork Escapes is likely to leave you talking about the host. Becostumed and behatted, with an instant dry wit that could put Richard O’Brien to shame, with the presence and elocution of a circus ringmaster, he sets the tone of the venue and never fails to be memorable. I don’t actually know whether the company sometimes has other hosts; it seems likely that they do, but I struggle to imagine their rooms being run by someone else, or another person managing to bring an similar ex...

a brilliant game for enthusiasts, meaty puzzles with that bonus collection element which is sure to please the most hardened teams

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also