Cryptology Nottingham: Dreamscape

By | March 20, 2019

by Cryptology Nottingham (website)

107 Upper Parliament Street

​0115 686 0778

Nottingham

3-6 players

60 minutes

Dr. Lucy Dee has come across a roadblock in her research and has asked you, and your esteemed colleagues, to unravel her troubles and step into her shoes… or should we say head? The doctor has been researching dreams for a decade now and on the cusp on true, unfettered dream control, she has stumbled into something strange.
It seems like somebody wants to keep control.
Calling himself The Sandman, he insists that the dreamworld is his and his alone and Lucy’s dreams have become all the more random and uncontrollable.
Placing the contraptions on your heads you pull the leather strap tight and begin to enter freefall, the world around you has morphed into view.
Will you be able to collect enough of Lucy’s thoughts to be able to finish this milestone research? Or will you succumb to The Sandman and be plagued with nightmares from now on?
It’s time for a nap of epic proportions.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 49 users
combined with 5 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

escapeartist1212 expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
originalclever
Spanishfleas experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 13 Nov 2021 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-driven

Really interesting use of time in the room. Set mini challenges and team work feels essential. This helps bring the team together and no one should feel left out. Non linear too which I love. Great idea! 

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 14 Jun 2021 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
Adam Bravery expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 6 Jun 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 38:51 with 20 dream keys Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverintense

This game is awesome and unique which kept us on our toes the whole time. Puzzles were plentiful, really fun and well themed. Our GM James was really involved and ran a great game for us, plus handled a slight tech issue really well. Apparently we did rather well, as only one other team has got all the dream keys before!! 

Jess_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 1 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 50:35 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingintense

Fun and creative room. Very playful throughout with a clever concept to drive us forward. The time restraints kept it intense which I loved. Lovely host who was very attentive. 

matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 1 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 50:35 with 14 Dream Keys Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivecreative

#67

Amazing. So immersive and creative, there’s no room I’ve seen like this. A must if you head to Nottingham.

Jemileh experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
abooth expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 21 May 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 16 dream keys and 54 mins. Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverstory-driven

Superb. The less you know the better, so I'll leave it at.....superb. From the minds of geniuses.

flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingfamily friendly

Great fun for the full 60 minutes.

Very fast paced and no time to dilly dally.

Great host and interesting venue.

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalclevergreat hosting
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

A great game and one that I’d strongly encourage enthusiasts to play. It hits way more often than it misses and, even where it misses, I appreciated what it was trying to do. It’s packed full of puzzles, you’ll get close to your full hour of game time, and there’s an adrenaline rush from start to finish.
Dreamscape is totally unique, a total blast, and absolutely rammed full of things to do. It is a perfect game for teams that are looking for a challenge to test their brainpower.

This isn’t a typical, search every corner for items type of room. This is solve as many puzzles as you can in the time and get rewarded for those that you do solve type of challenge. This means that even if you don’t do so well at the beginning, you still have a chance to progress to the end and “escape”!


Think of it as a Crystal Maze episode where you are all allowed to take on all the challenges in all four zones one after the other, where they open all the doors in each zone and the whole team just goes and works on all the puzzles simultaneously, obtains crystals (dreamkeys) for solving those puzzles, and then moves on to the next zone. The final zone (dream) is made easier the more puzzles you have solved, but you all get a chance to tackle it not matter how well you did.


It is worth spending about 12 minutes in each room, to maximize your chances, but you can move on if you do manage to get all 5 keys from that room earlier than that.

We collected 18 of the 20 keys and escaped in time, getting the second fastest time of any 3 person team to take on the Dreamscape!


Puzzle fans will love this one. It really is like a test of your puzzling skills as a team, and for everyone’s individual strengths. We had a Math whizz in our team who solved the number based puzzles in record time. Similarly I whizzed through the wordy ones, and together we did the logic and physical challenges.


Highly recommended for something a bit different, an immersive experience with a lot of laughs and clearly a room where the owners have thought outside the box and put a lot of time and effort into make something fantastical, varied and humorous that will have broad appeal. And they did just that!

The rooms were incredible – Dreamscape plays out like an escape room fan’s actual dream, with a huge volume of puzzles, all focussing on different strengths, and a great flow between each of the dreams! Each dream was so different from the previous and the types of puzzles in each room were SO cleverly tied into the feel of the dream you find yourself in. We spent most of the game working separately to try and tackle the volume of puzzles we were faced with – but we did come together a few times for some particularly tricky bits! We tried to separate according to our strengths (but in hindsight it was probably whoever got to the puzzle first! ). 

So Dreamscape isn’t the most polished room at Cryptology, nor is it’s theme the most convincing. It is however, a fantastic multi room experience that houses a little bit of everything that made us fall in love with escape rooms in the first place. 

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also