ClueQuest: cQ ORIGENES

By | March 20, 2019

by clueQuest - The LIVE Escape Game (website)

169-171 Caledonian Rd, London N1 0SL

+44 7798 772 382

Central London

2-6 players

Team of 2: £40.00pp
Team of 3-6: £35.00pp

Languages: EN

60 minutes

Wheelchair suitable - contact the venue for detailsDeaf friendly - contact the venue for details

Professor BlackSheep seeks to recreate the original genetical experiment that turned him into a sheep. He has launched a cyber attack on our old mainframe in the hope of extracting secret data, along with the genetical research he's missing.

In order to stop the Professor from breaching our firewall, you and your team will have to access Mr Q's old base. The only way in, however, is to shrink down to the size of a mouse with the help of the Shrink'o'Mat.Word of caution, agents: the technology you'll be exposed to is...a bit unstable and still experimental. You'll have only 60 minutes to counteract the cyber attack and secure the mainframe before the Shrink'o'Mat's effect wears off and things get messy.

show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:





If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Promotional offer

This offer is only available to Escape The Review patrons (Enthusiast tier or higher)

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 62 users
combined with 10 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

A Blacksmith expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 13 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 54:09 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersiveepicquite difficult
Undeniably an epic room, great theming and some rather tricky puzzles. A must for any Escape Roomer.
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team Tonks experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 3 Time taken: 59.40 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyhi-techstory-drivenvery difficult

One of the more challenging rooms we've done in a while, good job we did it with a third participant. Really good theme, really cool concept and we liked the way all the rooms there seem to have a common story between them.

It wasn't just about finding keys, the use of tech in this room was second to none.

Value wise, the room was very well priced for a London room.

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 5 Time taken: 49
originalcleverfamily friendly
abooth expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 60 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulhi-techimmersive

Sensational room. It looks absolutely flawless, the puzzles are hi-tec, interesting and difficult enough to keep you going for the whole time. The theming is perfect and our games host was wonderful. Probably the best room in London.

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 14/02/19
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 4 May 2019 Team size: 4 Time taken: 53:48 Outcome: Successful escape!
Ronnie Meade experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivestory-driven

Great themeing and set design with a clever transition to the main room where the decor is fun and fits the storyline. The puzzles once again will test most skill sets from logic, observation, teamwork and communication. The best room at ClueQuest in my opinion, highly recommended

abunai expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Mark Jackson experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 12 Nov 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 58:37 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting

Brilliant room! One of the best I’ve ever done!

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

A new game from Cluequest is a rare and much-anticipated thing. One of the very first U.K. operators, they took the approach of running many copies of their games in parallel rather than churning out lots of different games, and when they do release something new, each time it’s easy to see that they’ve put a lot of work into making it a clear step up from the last, not just more of the same.

All their games share a secret agent theming with players being recruited for a super spy agency run by...

A game that more than lives up to clueQuest's reputation with great story, decoration and puzzles. If you're in or near London - play this game.
clueQuest is one of the oldest providers in London. They released four escape rooms and apparently upped their game significantly with each following one. The latest one is cQ Origenes, which is apparently the best escape game in London (rated #125 and #87 in TERPECA 2020 and 2019) not being far behind the best TERPECA rated UK game - Loot the Lanes. All of their rooms follow one prevailing theme, where cartoon mice and sheep are the main characters. A rather cryptic name is actually a wordplay connecting words "origins" (as story-wise this game is a prequel to the previous ones) and "genes".
This room has almost everything I look for in an escape room: beautiful set design, clever puzzles, enough narrative to drive the game forward, and just a bit of humour

We absolutely loved the concept of this room, it was so simple but designed incredibly well. We had so much fun exploring all the props and clever, special touches in the space. The props were well designed and pretty much everything really ‘worked’, meaning a great deal of exploring the room pays off, not only for progressing the story, but also for the wow-factor of discovery!

I love the concept and was very intrigued, as this is a very ambitious theme for a game – presumably they weren’t REALLY going to shrink us down…?

Easily ClueQuest’s best game, and hence the best extant game in London for me at the time of writing, I highly recommend this to anyone in or visiting London.
Another visit to clueQuest, another dastardly plan to foil. We volunteered to be shrunk to the size of our murine hero, Mr Q, to enter his old lab and counteract Professor BlackSheep's heinous cyber-attack…

cQ Origenes has been at the top of our escape room wish list for a while now, after a previous excellent visit to ClueQuest it was time to play...

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also