Tulleys Escape Rooms & Games: Nethercott Manor

By | March 20, 2019

by Tulleys Escape Rooms & Games (website)

Turners Hill Road, Turners Hill, RH10 4PE

Crawley

2-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

The old manor house is entwined with local legend, the living don’t remember the Nethercott’s, the family’s hay day was long ago. Local folk talked, whispers were heard, rumours began, lights were seen within.
The Nethercott’s are long gone but something remains, an essence, a smell, a feeling, it’s in the fabric, in the walls, under the floor boards … it ticks, it creeks … take a trip into the past, uncover the family’s many secrets and glimpse their fleeting souls?
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 51 users
combined with 13 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

🎲A Jones experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 24 Oct 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 1:27:26 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersiveepicquite difficult😨creepy
Huge room with loads and loads of puzzles. Lots of variety and types of puzzles too. This is a must do. We really enjoyed the room, the theme and the puzzles. Some of them took us quite some time and as with many of the rooms here, dexterity as well as smarts!
imrahil experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 27/11/2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 89:41 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulhi-techintensequite difficult
Tulley's 90 minute is not for the faint hearted, I would call this the toughest room at Tulley's, there are some difficult puzzles (including one I feel is unfairly hard).  As with all their other rooms, it looks beautiful and theming is completely on point.
Robin Harris & Michael Bailey experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 30 Aug 2021 Team size: 5 Time taken: 63 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenintensevery difficult😨creepy
MightyMidds experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 18 Oct 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 78 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenepicquite difficult😨creepy
ratsontour expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 6 Outcome: Failed 🙁
beautifulhi-techimmersivevery difficult😨creepy
Laura McGill expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 21 Sep 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techcleverimmersivequite difficult😨creepy
Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 7 Time taken: 55
beautifulhi-techimmersivevery difficult😨creepy

A really strong addition to Tulleys, although well deserving of its difficult reputation. This is mainly due to sheer puzzle density, although there are some really challenging puzzles requiring multiple steps to solve. A couple of frustrating skill based puzzles vexxed us although  the puzzle quality is great and flow works well. Splitting up is essential, and a large team is recommended. The theming and design is outstanding, plus our GM was great. 

Moosehead expert rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Team size: 4
beautifulpoor hostingvery difficult

I’m clearly in the minority here, but we did not enjoy this game.  We think it all came down to the gm not paying attention, but even without that, it seems to be WAY too hard to do in an hour.  Then if you are frustrated at the end they give you a 50% off coupon to come back and do it again 😒

Escape Enthusiast expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Nethercott Manor, the third game from Tulleys Escape Rooms, has sat at the top of my must-play game list ever since it opened, while garnering one rave review after another; it's currently the highest ranked game on this site by player reviews. And it thoroughly lived up to expectations - with one very glaring problem, that will bother some players greatly and others not at all.

Tulleys' usual superb production values are on display from the outset. The briefing takes place inside the room, but...

From the moment the game started, I knew it was going to be something special. An experience that takes you on an incredible journey with a high-quality set and an unbelievable number of puzzles.
Tulleys have clearly spent an inordinate amount of both time and money to make this an experience that you are not likely to forget, and it has certainly paid off

There certainly is no expense spared in terms of attention to detail and thought put into this room, it is impeccable. From the court-yard to the kitchen no minor detail is overlooked, creating a living, breathing and 100% immersive space.

Finally, the room that put Tulley’s on the map (for me at least) – their largest and hardest (I think), as I didn’t even see half of the room – more like 1/3! It was also the one I was most nervous before, being a massive wimp and this being a haunted house. Nevertheless, I couldn’t pass the experience up, so I steeled myself and forged ahead. 

Dodge City was quite the treat for us and a definite highlight in the greater London area. Nethercott Manor was a close second, perhaps due to the theme as we typically prefer light hearted games. We are happy to award Dodge City our highest rating of 5 gold stars! It's rare to see an escape room with so many things to accomplish in such an immense and wonderful environment!
We head into a creepy old manor house. What will we find inside...?

You can tell that a lot of effort was put into room decoration and it fitted the theme well. This is certainly an amazing premium experience!

Puzzles were varied a nice mix of physical and mental puzzles.

This room definitely lived up to its five star difficulty rating with so many puzzles crammed inside that there were many moments that we were sure we’d never reach the end! It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience with lots of variety to the puzzles and the spooky atmosphere really added to the tension.

Nethercott Manor brings together great theming with a shed ton of puzzles to create a fun if slightly stuffed escape room. 

I love a challenge, and this was certainly that, despite not completing the room I thoroughly enjoyed it, which is odd, as I really like winning, beautiful looking room, really well themed, some good and challenging puzzles, apparently we only got around 2/3 of the way through, may return to replay this one when I've had time to forget the puzzles a bit more, as I'd like to see it to the end. 

 

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also