Tulleys Escape Rooms & Games: Nethercott Manor

By | March 20, 2019

by Tulleys Escape Rooms & Games (website)

Turners Hill Road, Turners Hill, RH10 4PE

Crawley

2-8 players

Languages: EN

90 mins
The old manor house is entwined with local legend, the living don’t remember the Nethercott’s, the family’s hay day was long ago. Local folk talked, whispers were heard, rumours began, lights were seen within.
The Nethercott’s are long gone but something remains, an essence, a smell, a feeling, it’s in the fabric, in the walls, under the floor boards … it ticks, it creeks … take a trip into the past, uncover the family’s many secrets and glimpse their fleeting souls?
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 40 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 30 users
combined with 11 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 10 and 10 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Failed 🙁
illogicalpoor hostingquite difficult

There is so much hype about this game, I just don't understand how our experience was so terrible.

After our amazing experience  playing 'Dodge' we then hit an all time low. 

We spent over 20 minutes in the dark with 2 torches between 4 of us. After asking for help and for more torches numerous times and not receiving any response, one of our team members left the room to get our GMs attention. He wasn't anywhere to be found. Another GM in Reception told us they would pass on the message to our GM.

After a few more minutes we received a clue instructing us to pull something more firmly  (trying to give no spoilers). As enthusiasts, we are conditioned into thinking nothing requires any force, well this did! As did other things in the room.

25 minutes in, morale was low. The second half of the game passed by very slowly. Some of the puzzles just seemed illogically difficult for the sake of it. One team member was left to spend 20 minutes on a 'puzzle', when we came out we were told we didn't need to do it.

Another team member had to leave the room during the second half of the game to get the GMs attention again as there was no response when waving and calling out to the cameras.

At the end of the game, we asked the GM about 2 specific puzzles and how to solve them, he couldn't tell us as he didn't know.

It was an absolute farce. I have tried to contact Tulleys twice to give them personal  feedback but haven't received a response.

Maybe an attentive and helpful GM would have made for a better experience. 

PurpleB experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: Oct 2019 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

An amazing room.  A couple of the items were a bit worse for wear when we played and broke during play which stops this getting the full 5*.  I also wish there wasn't quite so much content in the room.  Although we did escape, we had to parallelise a lot in order to do so and it meant there were large chunks of the room I never saw!

Barry Hammond experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 21/08/2018 Team size: 4 Time taken: 44.16 Outcome: Successful escape!
Tim Cooper expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: Team size: 4 Time taken: Outcome: Failed 🙁
Randy Hum rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: Team size: Time taken:
Sabrina (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 30/05/2019 Outcome: Failed 🙁
Steve Kennedy rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 6 Outcome: Successful escape!
Brian experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 10.08.2019 Team size: 6 Time taken: 4 mins spare Outcome: Successful escape!
laceyd87 experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5

Challenging, as there is a lot to do! 

🌵Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 22/12/2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 74:45 Outcome: Successful escape!

Really hard to know how to review this game: as a couple I would say we had quite different experiences of the game. Pretty similar theme  and look to playing a Mystery Case Files computer game. I got to do more of the smaller puzzles individually while the other half of the duo concentrated on some more physical skill puzzles. The game - if it had worked and had been well hosted - would have been absolutely great, I am sure. 

The good: it is HUGE and there is plenty to do. We apparently had one room to go at the end and hadn't quite finished the room we were in. There are some fun puzzles. The set looks fantastic - one of the best I have seen. There were some great a-ha moments and some mild jump scares. 

The bad: ultimately a frustrating experience - more so for Mr B who got stuck with a broken puzzle having been trying to do it for at least 10 minutes. We had 3 separate occurrences in the rooms where drawers or doors should have opened having put in the correct solution where nothing happened. I am not sure if this was down to mechanical issues with the puzzles or a failure to pay attention to manual release moments on the part of the GM  - but compounded by failing to get a response from the GM when asking for help or to confirm that the solution entered was correct on multiple occasions, it felt like we wasted a lot of time standing around not understanding why nothing had happened and why we couldn't progress. Given these faults, being ceremoniously shepherded out of the room exactly on the 60:00 mark - when we had starting playing around 10 minutes in advance of our listed game time - meant that we felt like we had not really got the full experience, and I can't say that the GM was particularly bothered about it. A real shame, given the potential the room clearly has to be one of the best in the UK. 

Update: we did return in Nov 21, and completed it this time. No issues with broken tech this time around, and the hosting was significantly better. Finished in 75 minutes, recalling very little of what we saw the first time. It is a beautifully designed set, but something about this game just doesn't spark joy in me - definitely prefer some of the other Tulley's games over this one. It is still a very good game though, just competing against some other very high quality games. Agree it works better as a 90 minute game as a 2 player so it's nice they have made that change. 

Mike S expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Mayumi rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 21/10/18 Team size: 8 Outcome: Failed 🙁

It was the very first escape room we played and I now know it was the wrong choice for the complete novice...! lol. It’s so involved and full of puzzles to solve. We managed to get to the last room but unfortunately ran out of time.  Still, we think we did well!  Very good room with a lot to work on.

Anouska123 rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
imrahil experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
Lisa Cregg rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 19/10/20 Team size: 4 Time taken: 55 seconds Outcome: Successful escape!

Oh my wow, this is a doozy of an escape room, not for the faint hearted. 

Like all of Tully’s escape rooms, the setting and props were outstanding; so well thought through and perfectly in keeping with the theme of the room. If you have never done a Tully’s room, I strongly recommend leaving this one until last as it is the biggest and hardest of the lot, the other rooms will help you to understand the puzzle style of Tully’s  which will really help. 

There is so much content in this room it is unreal, it just keeps going and going! Top tip, split off if you want to beat this one. 

Our Game Master was excellent at supporting us when we were stuck, leaving just the right amount of time to drop helpful hints, always in character as a ghostly voice. 

Tully’s is not so much a narrative based escape room, but more focussed on theme based puzzles. however this is not a negative, there is an excellent range of puzzles that really get the cogs working. There are so many excellent surprises in this room, as well as clever puzzles I have not seen before in an escape room. The non-linear structure meant that everyone always had something to do and escaping this one felt like a real achievement!

benny1664 rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Failed 🙁
immersivestory-driven

This room is very good but I left feeling bad as I just cannot see how its a 60min room.  We have done 50 rooms and never failed one other than Nethercott and Dodge at Tulleys as theres just so much to do in the time.  We never got stuck on anything and yet after 60mins she said we were only 60% of the way through it!  I get the impression they want people to come back for 2nd visits.  Just left me feeling disappointed and put me off trying their new rooms as they seem impossible to finish..

Escape Enthusiast experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Moosehead expert rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Team size: 4
beautifulpoor hostingvery difficult

I’m clearly in the minority here, but we did not enjoy this game.  We think it all came down to the gm not paying attention, but even without that, it seems to be WAY too hard to do in an hour.  Then if you are frustrated at the end they give you a 50% off coupon to come back and do it again 😒

Anonymous experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 7 Time taken: 55
beautifulhi-techimmersivevery difficult👻scary

A really strong addition to Tulleys, although well deserving of its difficult reputation. This is mainly due to sheer puzzle density, although there are some really challenging puzzles requiring multiple steps to solve. A couple of frustrating skill based puzzles vexxed us although  the puzzle quality is great and flow works well. Splitting up is essential, and a large team is recommended. The theming and design is outstanding, plus our GM was great. 

Laura McGill expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 21 Sep 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techcleverimmersivequite difficult😨creepy
ratsontour expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 6 Outcome: Failed 🙁
beautifulhi-techimmersivevery difficult😨creepy
MightyMidds experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 18 Oct 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 78 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenepicquite difficult😨creepy
Robin Harris & Michael Bailey experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 30 Aug 2021 Team size: 5 Time taken: 63 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenintensevery difficult😨creepy
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 27 Nov 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 89:41 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulhi-techintensequite difficult
Tulley's 90 minute is not for the faint hearted, I would call this the toughest room at Tulley's, there are some difficult puzzles (including one I feel is unfairly hard).  As with all their other rooms, it looks beautiful and theming is completely on point.
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-driven

I have mixed emotions about this room, personally I liked it as I like logic puzzles and those which require some "sideways thinking", but one sensory puzzle had me on the verge of a rage quit...  Now don't get me wrong, sensory puzzles can be wonderful... but this one was too many and too similar and we solved the puzzle by other means that the sensory route as none of the team could agree. So frustrating and is now my lasting memory of the room.
The rest of the adventure was great, lots of variety in the puzzles, great transitions and torches (how I love a torch when there's low light, my old eyes need one!). The narrative is detailed and progresses nicely through the adventure too. 
We had another great host from Tulleys, who nudged at the right points and didn't leave us too long before sending clues. Great room (except for the sensory nightmare).

Jo Keen-Roberts / Reptons experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 119 Outcome: Failed 🙁
immersiveintensequite difficult😨creepy

We paid for 2hrs knowing as a pair we'd never complete. It took us all of those 2hrs.  Very pleased they've upped it to 90mins as felt it was unfair before as just impossible to complete in 60 min

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 11 Sep 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 66:50 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersiveintensequite difficult😨creepy
😺Lianne experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 16 Jan 2022 Team size: 6 Time taken: 61m Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hosting👻scary

We went into Nethercott with some trepidation about the difficulty, even though we had booked a 90 minute slot and were a large-ish team of mostly experienced players.

The theming and set design were great, on par with Tulleys' usual quality - with some small jump scares. Atmospheric music and sound effects help keep the spooky feeling. There are some sections with lots of flashing lights, so be aware if you're sensitive to that (I don't think they mention it before booking!).

We felt that the main reason for longer game times seems to be the sheer volume of things going on. A larger team is definitely better if you want to complete it first time. Aside from the amount of puzzles, only a couple of puzzles were particularly difficult to work out. 

The GM was great, offering us the option of hints at the perfect time, when needed.

A solid room, though not my personal favourite at Tulleys.

jakea256 expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
story-drivenepicvery difficult😨creepy

So much to do, so little time! Amazing how much they've managed to fit into the space they have. I loved the mixture of the physical and traditional style puzzles as you explored the manor. Some elements of the room were a little stiff which led us to believe we couldn't use them / need them until hinted. We were also a little annoyed that only 2 torches were provided for the whole team. However, the rest was superb and easily made up for these small gripes! We played this game as 90 minutes and definitely needed the extra half hour. If you can complete in under an hour, hats off to you!

Amy Sampson experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 10/2/18 Team size: 4 Time taken: Outcome: Failed 🙁

5 star despite being petrified throughout! 

Reviews by escape room review sites

Nethercott Manor, the third game from Tulleys Escape Rooms, has sat at the top of my must-play game list ever since it opened, while garnering one rave review after another; it's currently the highest ranked game on this site by player reviews. And it thoroughly lived up to expectations - with one very glaring problem, that will bother some players greatly and others not at all.
Tulleys' usual superb production values are on display from the outset. The briefing takes place inside the room, but...
From the moment the game started, I knew it was going to be something special. An experience that takes you on an incredible journey with a high-quality set and an unbelievable number of puzzles.
Tulleys have clearly spent an inordinate amount of both time and money to make this an experience that you are not likely to forget, and it has certainly paid off

There certainly is no expense spared in terms of attention to detail and thought put into this room, it is impeccable. From the court-yard to the kitchen no minor detail is overlooked, creating a living, breathing and 100% immersive space.

Dodge City was quite the treat for us and a definite highlight in the greater London area. Nethercott Manor was a close second, perhaps due to the theme as we typically prefer light hearted games. We are happy to award Dodge City our highest rating of 5 gold stars! It's rare to see an escape room with so many things to accomplish in such an immense and wonderful environment!
We head into a creepy old manor house. What will we find inside...?

You can tell that a lot of effort was put into room decoration and it fitted the theme well. This is certainly an amazing premium experience!

Puzzles were varied a nice mix of physical and mental puzzles.

This room definitely lived up to its five star difficulty rating with so many puzzles crammed inside that there were many moments that we were sure we’d never reach the end! It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience with lots of variety to the puzzles and the spooky atmosphere really added to the tension.

I love a challenge, and this was certainly that, despite not completing the room I thoroughly enjoyed it, which is odd, as I really like winning, beautiful looking room, really well themed, some good and challenging puzzles, apparently we only got around 2/3 of the way through, may return to replay this one when I've had time to forget the puzzles a bit more, as I'd like to see it to the end. 

 

Nethercott Manor brings together great theming with a shed ton of puzzles to create a fun if slightly stuffed escape room. 

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also