The Escapement: The Pit

By | March 20, 2019

by The Escapement Margate (website)

65 Northdown Rd, Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2RJ

Margate

2-7 players

Languages: EN

90 mins
🐶👶

The Earth is faced with a severe crisis, and you are mankind’s last hope.

As some of the best miners in the world, you’re being sent deep underground on an extremely critical mission.

Can you work as a team and save the world from utter destruction?

Do you have what it takes to save the planet in this journey to the centre of the earth?

show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 60 users
combined with 7 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

essentialatom experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 29 Jun 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58:55 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hosting

A very nicely designed room. There's a satisfying flow from one puzzle to another, some nice attention to detail (such as a communication device being provided for you at just the point you'll need it), and tasks that engage you both physically and mentally. And our host got involved to ramp up the intensity towards the end too! Great fun, highly recommended. 

🤘The Pick of Destiny expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 10 Jun 2024 Team size: 2
immersivegreat hostingintense

This experience was made all the better by our fantastic GM, Tom! The game stands on its own as an excellent room, however, the hosting really put the cherry on top of the cake! We loved it!

DypanicDuo experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 28 Feb 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 43:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
AJ’s expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 22 Aug 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 43:34 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-driven
A really immersive build and mix of puzzles we hadn’t seen before! Possibly the most immersed we had felt in any game as we played our way through! Even after 280 games this still sits firmly in our top 10! A must play if you’re in Margate! 
madhatter rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Played: 28 Apr 2024 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hostingquite difficult
We had high expectations for this but left feeling flat. The theming/set is fantastic. Hosting is really good, although the intro is perhaps longer than it needs to be and had lost us a bit. This wasn’t so much a game of finding and solving. Personally we felt it would be more suited to a team of 2 as often there was nothing for the rest to do. The first half of the game was better than the second. And the end we found a bit of an anti-climax
LouT rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hosting
Really enjoyable game. Our host was great, loads of enthusiasm.
escapeartist1212 expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
cleverimmersivestory-driven
A Blacksmith expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 10 May 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingintensequite difficult
A well themed room both immersive and puzzles. Some nice surprises  and fantastic games master. Definitely worth a visit. 
browngate experienced rated this:Rated between 5 and 5 out of 5
Ratchel experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

While I guess by normal standards it's pretty weird to go to a seaside town and spend the whole day indoors, the quality of the five games I played across the two escape companies in Margate was so high that I had no qualms about missing the beach. Of those five, The Pit is the newest game from The Escapement and was the one I found most impressive of all, an ambitious subterranean adventure with a Hollywood disaster movie plot where you need to descend into the depths to restart the rotation of...

A truly impressive game that will immerse you in the world they've created. With a visually astounding set and a cool story concept, it was only the puzzles where this room showed its weakness.
Even when you're receiving the briefing for this room you know it is going to be something special. This isn't just a 60 minute experience, this is a game changer.

From the moment you descend below ground, the room provides complete immersion. We played this with four people, and there was plenty to keep the 4 of us busy and the puzzles were mostly very “hands-on”, which totally suited the scenario and also were a lot of fun! We always love it when a room has something we haven’t seen before and plenty of the puzzles here were completely new concepts to us, which we loved!

If you can overlook the fact that you'll be going "thousands of feet deep" through a short flight of stairs , the game area looks quite realistic (...) Even though there are plenty of old-fashioned puzzles to solve and locks to open, the overall series of tasks the team needs to complete will feel quite organic, and the game had a few surprises in store for us.

What a room The Pit is. Great immersion, great puzzles and great hosting. Loads of surprises and a great room!

An outstanding room with great puzzles, atmosphere, theming and game master makes The Pit an unmissable game. I’m delighted to give it a rare five star rating. You should travel to play this game.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also