Down The Hatch: Molly’s Game

By | August 11, 2020

by Down The Hatch (website)

Populierendreef 968C, 2272 HW

Voorburg

2-5 players

Languages: EN, NL

Winner of a 2023 TERPECA awardWinner of a 2022 TERPECA awardWinner of a 2021 TERPECA award80 mins

You may enter any given moment…

But you cannot leave until you finished her game!


It is November 19, 1971 when Doctor Dan Kowalski opens the door to his practice. It is Quiet.. the wooden floor cracks while he walks upon his desk. When he is about to sit down.. a voice speaks….
Suddenly Dan finds himself in a thrilling and compelling game that will take the utmost of him…
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 10 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 11 Sep 2021 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
Betty expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 2 Oct 2023 Team size: 4
ratsontour expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 24 Sep 2023 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulhi-techimmersive👻scary
Steph Norchi experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 28 May 2023 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulstory-drivenepic😨creepy

All I can say is WOW. Absolutely incredible, from start to finish it was perfection, so many twists, every room had us in awe of what could be achieved in an escape room. The room is very story-driven, and captivating throughout, and the puzzles are beautifully woven into the theme. Nothing felt out of place or jarring, it was engineered perfectly. I cannot recommend this room enough!

Spanishfleas experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting

Lucky enough to have access to the owner after the room. So much heart and soul invested in the room. Has a lot of pride in what he does. 

The room is excellent in terms of design and use of puzzles. Many surprises. Great ending too. 

Jens (Bruteforce) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 13. April 2022
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting
Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 10 Apr 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivestory-driven😨creepy

So many aspects of this game set it apart from the average game but it is how they all tie beautifully together that recommends this as the gold standard of escape rooms.

Talking to the owner (and designer and builder...), it was so evident how vital the storytelling is to the game and that comes across in the flawless gameplay. Puzzles are logical and well thought through, with the same emphasis on storytelling that is delivered by the setting, which - at times - had us utterly amazed.

This is definitely a creepy, unnerving game but I didn't want it to end because it really is that good.

This is one not to be missed. Just brilliant.

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 18 Oct 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-drivenquite difficult😨creepy
malc_b rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 4 Sep 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulcleverquite difficult😨creepy
Nic Ho experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
beautifulhi-techstory-drivenquite difficult😨creepy

Best escape Room in the World!  Love it! 

Reviews by escape room review sites

I am a big fan of the rooms of Down the Hatch. I played their first room, the original Down The Hatch, which later closed, when I was starting the escape enthusiast path. After thoroughly enjoying the Cooper Case and Flight 815, I was thrilled to read (in what seems ages ago) that they were working on their new game: Molly’s game.

10/10 for puzzles, 10/10 for set, and 19/10 for story. Molly’s Game begins with a visually amazing lobby, and a very enthusiastic greeting. After a brief introduction, we were led into the room where we had to break into a doctor’s office under the invitation of the mysterious and enigmatic “Molly”. Who is Molly? Well that was for us to find out. Molly’s Game is slightly Stranger Things themed – but only slightly, you don’t really need to have seen the TV show to understand it, I think it’s more just “set within the same thematic universe” which is pretty cool.

Dieses Spiel ist besonders für die Escape-Room-Enthusiast*innen ein Muss.

See also