Escapable: Outatime

By | October 14, 2021

by Escapable (website)

Thornes Lane Wharf, Wakefield WF1 5RL

Wakefield

2-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

Can you head back into the past and solve the puzzles left for you by the Professor to re-jig the thingamy whats-it and save human kind as we know it?!? You will be transported back through the decades, you will need to work with your team to overcome several obstacles that are currently blocking your only path home!
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 57 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

lishahirst experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
A super fun and immersive room! We got a little caught up by something SO obvious but still managed to get out. The ending is great. Super friendly GM, would recommend for any back to the future fans!
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: May 2022 Outcome: Successful escape!
funnyfamily friendly

Fun room with lots of subtle and, even more completely blatant, nods to the Back to the Future films. I especially loved the music in the kitchen, great for a bop around the room.  Great fun!

TheEscapeBoomers expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingfamily friendly

Pleasantly surprised! Great game with some nice surprises! Loved the retro feel and the nostalgia trip. 

Pagan Hollis experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 10 May 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 46:05 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting
Ladylusiphur rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 11 Feb 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46:30 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenepic

There isn't much I can say that hasn't already been covered by previous reviews, but I can't say enough how much I enjoyed this room. 

You can tell that whoever put this together really loves the genre, and also really cares about the experience of the player. The addition of a couple of little tricks, good music, and authentic nods to the eras made it really feel like you were immersed in your own little movie, not just going through the motions of puzzle to puzzle. Several times we were looking at each other and saying 'how cool is this??' And really, sometimes it's the simple things that really make the difference, and a lot of escape room companies can learn from that. 

The puzzles were mixed level, nothing I thought was particularly difficult but often just required thought to find the right clues and link the right pieces together. I think we managed it with only one or two hints to point us in the right direction, no time lost scratching our heads in frustration. 

The final section was definitely the most fun, and it's a shame we couldn't just stay longer and appreciate the effectiveness of it all. I was in my element. 

Hosting was great, very friendly guy (sorry I forgot his name but he's a big fan of Cabaret!), gave the right help when needed but otherwise left us to it. Clearly loves his job. 

Definitely one of my top 3 games ever. 

Ashley Archbold rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 53 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyoriginalepic

If you like Back to the Future, this is the room for you. If you like 90s Nostalgia this is the room for you. If you like Escape Rooms, this is the room for you. If you havent played an escape room before, then this isnt the one for you as it sets the bar too high!!! Such a great room, ive played it twice. 

Jess_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalgreat hosting
Paul Flinders rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 21 Feb 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58mins
immersivestory-drivenfamily friendly

As a Back to the Future fan I was really looking forward to playing this room and I have to say Escapable did not disappoint.

Also having played many rooms and even designed escape rooms myself, it was nice to be caught out by clever puzzles

Would 100% recommend 

Tatie experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 21 May 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 57:12 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenfamily friendly

Brilliant game. This was the second game my friends had ever played and it set the bar for later games very high as they are still talking about it now almost a year later.

Dan Taylor experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 1 Mar 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 51:15 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-drivengreat hosting

Where to start? First off, our host Tom was an absolute pleasure to talk to. We spent a good bit of time both before and after the game talking about escape rooms. Always good for me as it indicates the care and enthusiasm that has been put in. And it definitely showed!

There was a great fun intro to the room from Tom himself as well as a great story intro once we got inside. I am a huge fan of the back to the future franchise but my partner has never seen them. The room was clever enough to work for us both, delivering the story well regardless of the external knowledge although there were some lovely little details for fans of the film.

The puzzles we came across had the perfect balance of challenge and difficulty without being frustrating. Only a couple of pointers needed and as always it was down to us being silly rather than the puzzles being illogical! 

I feel it's worth mentioning that one of our directional locks didn't work throughout the game (we all know it happens) but rather than it causing a problem, the way Tom dealt with it was so good and professional and was able to keep us immersed in the game while being able to fix it for us. He also was incredibly apologetic about it after the game.

The end of the game had some of the best theatrics I've experienced and I was grinning like a maniac. 

The background music had me dancing and singing along between puzzles and helped add to the overall enjoyment of the game.

I would recommend this room to anyone. Go play this room!

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

My knowledge of classic 80s movies is clearly lacking, because it took me quite a few months after hearing of Outatime before I realised it’s inspired by Back To The Future.
As you’d expect from a time travel theme, this is a game that spans different settings. There are of course a great many nods to the movie, some subtle and some blatant, though I’d say that the majority of this game focuses on the movie’s setting more than on the movie’s plot. The premise here is that you’re lost in time a...
Outatime is clearly inspired by a certain time-travelling film, and whilst not using anything outright from the film, it is a genuine homage to it, and very nicely done.

A must-visit for any Back To The Future fan. Not the hardest room that I’ve done in terms of complexity, but the sheer number of puzzles keep you busy. And the soundtrack and finale are some of the best I’ve seen at an escape room.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also

Other copies of this game in other locations:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)