The Escapement: Pirates of Polaris

By | March 20, 2019

by The Escapement (website)

Margate

2-6 players

90 mins
🐶👶
Trapped onboard the ship Polaris, you and your crew of have been thrown in the brig, however, there’s been a mutiny onboard and all remaining crew members have abandoned ship!
Navigate the stars and the seas and figure out how to sail the ship through thunder bolts and lighting back to land!
This room contains flashing lights – please let us know if you require this feature to be removed from the game.
Pirates Of Polaris features genuine artefacts and items from a 130-year-old ship – Polaris. Our rooms are highly immersive and theatric, we want you to feel as though you are on a movie set!
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 40 and 45 out of 5

based on ratings from 26 users
combined with 7 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Mia Rabone experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivengreat hostingepicquite difficult

Another brilliant room by The Escapement. Great hosting, great theming, really good quantity and range of puzzles. We struggled with one part but it didn't detract from the overall experience. Highly recommend 🙂  

😺Lianne experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 09/02/2020 Team size: 4 Time taken: 45 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulcleverimmersive

Really enjoyable and well-themed room. I'm a sucker for pirate themed rooms, but it does feel like the team at Escapement have gone the extra mile with the decor and real and replica items in the room to make it feel incredibly authentic. In terms of difficulty, we were a team of one experienced three newbie players, and got out in around 45 minutes.

Angela Styles rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
harveyjcsmith rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:
Played: 21.9.19 Team size: 4 Time taken: 44 Outcome: Successful escape!

Some very exciting puzzles.  Really liked the idea of the storm timer!

Robin Harris & Michael Bailey experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 14/9/2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 49 minutes 52 seconds Outcome: Successful escape!
Matt C experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 27/01/2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 60:32 Outcome: Successful escape!

WOW some of the most amazing theming I have ever seen! The puzzle was great but the final puzzle is extremely challenging for a team of 2. But still highly recommend 

Mike S expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Ben Bailey experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 14/1/20 Team size: 2 Time taken: 61:37 Outcome: Successful escape!

Very fun adventure in a room designed with real parts from a vessel. A joy to play through and would recommend to others. Ask the owners about the Original Polaris!

Anouska123 rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
🌵Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 04/01/2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59:47 Outcome: Successful escape!

Excellent room. Amazing set design, great puzzles with some nice physical elements. We had a new GM under supervision who did a great job giving us the occasional nudge when we had made some search fails. Very immersive with how the puzzles truly fit the experience. Found it a little hard to see some areas although I understand the GM can control the brightness if needed and it is not a dark room in a frustrating sense at all. Absolutely worth a visit. 

furiouslycurious experienced rated this:
Played: 2017

Had fun. More signposting needed for certain sections but a good fun family game.

Jon Sterling rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulintense
laceyd87 experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Tim Cooper expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersiveepic
Shane Craig Gausden experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingfamily friendlyintense
Kempshott_fox rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 14 Aug 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 48 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulcleverimmersive
Nichola Morrison experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulcleverintense

Great set loved this room! 

Ronnie Meade experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulcleverimmersive

This is definitely the best pirate themed room I've experienced, the themeing and set design are brilliant, immersive and creative. Puzzle wise there is everything for every type of player and all fit with the story and theme. The last puzzle was a great ending for achievement and wrapped everything up nicely.

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivegreat hosting

Such a strong room! Just one request for the last puzzle that would put it over the edge - pen and paper! Memory is key in the last puzzle and mine is very poor! Other than that, a really well-themed and well thought out room!

🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!

A beautiful room with some great props, but this room just did not do it for me as it seems to have done for so many others. The main issue for me was light level, yes its thematic, and yes most other teams don't have a problem, but my 50 year old eyes could see b*gg*r all... the flickering of the lamps is very atmospheric but my eyes had problems adjusting to the varying light levels, so frustration set in from the start as I couldn't find anything.

The puzzles were good and logical, but we had a couple of reset issues that confused us a points as we had the items before we should have, and as other reviewers have said something to write on would have helped too. But our big problem was seeing the detail we needed, especially on the last puzzle.
 

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 30 Nov 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersive
This is a great looking room, theming is absolutely on point (they have 130 year old timbers as part of the scenery).  It's been highly praised on this site and made an appearance in the TERPECA's, so why didn't I score it higher?  I don't like to admit it, but it's an age thing, the light levels are low and there is no additional light source (even thematic appropriate ones) or even anything to write on.  Because of this, some puzzles took us longer to achieve as we had to check and recheck our results as if a prop shifts in the light then it might give us a different result, we knew what we had to do but we were hampered in this regard.  It is a great looking room, make no mistake it's only a shame we didn't enjoy it more.
Adam Bravery experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 29 Dec 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 42 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting

Amazing design of the room which leaves you fully immersed. Our host was excellent and only gave help when specifically requested, as well as a great run-down of the game after finishing (the obligatory Escapement experience). Puzzles were excellent and well themed, although I wish a couple had slightly better signposting to avoid us needing a hint (might've been us being morons however). Overall, a fantastic game and I think slightly tops Mutiny (Tulleys) as my favourite pirate escape room. 

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 24 Mar 2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 62:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
Barry Hammond experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 04/02/2018 Team size: 4 Time taken: 50.51 Outcome: Successful escape!

Reviews by escape room review sites

First of the three games I played at The Escapement, Pirates of Polaris places you in the brig of a pirate galleon, abandoned by the crew and left to go down with the ship, unless you can find a way to escape. The venue has achieved quite a reputation amongst enthusiasts, and it was instantly clear why: Pirates is a beautiful game that starts well and never misses a beat.
As the website description states, some of the decor is taken from an actual antique ship, from which the game takes its nam...
A review of Pirates of Polaris, an excellent escape room which managed to deliver both an atmospheric set and great puzzles.
This room is beautiful, it really is, and when a room uses genuine artifacts there is no doubt you are in for a treat

We know this is a super common theme among Escape Rooms, but wow! We were so impressed with what the team had managed to put together. The floorboards, the walls, the ceiling, everything was creaky in the right places, and really made you feel like you were on a real life ship…OH WAIT – are those genuine artefacts from a real life 130 year old pirate ship called Polaris?! Yes, yes they are. 

The Escapement make very little noise about the fact that much of Pirates of Polaris is constructed from an actual 130-year-old ship, the Polaris. It’s something we didn’t find out about until after our game, but it does go some way to explaining how good the theming in this room is.

Can you steer the ship in the right direction?

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review expert

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also