Lucardo Rawtenstall: University of Magic: Dragon’s Heart

By | March 20, 2019

by Lucardo Rawtenstall (website)

33 - 35 Kay Street, Rossendale, BB4 7LS

Rawtenstall

2-6 players

60 minutes

An announcement has been made in the University of Magic - the Dragon’s Heart has been stolen! Without this, magic as we know it is at risk. Rumours are circulating that it was seen in Oggles Magic Shop. Your task is to use your magical powers to enter Oggles, recover The Dragon’s Heart and return it back to the University of Magic. Dark forces are involved, so take care on this quest. Pre-Book – Opens 8th December 2018
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 40 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 18 users
combined with 6 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Anonymous experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 2 Apr 2022 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfamily friendlymagical

Another great game from Rawtenstall and great hosting from the team. The room was once again superb and completely on theme. The puzzles were fun and original and really made the hour fly by. 

If you're looking to play - I'd certainly book this room closely followed by Treason.  -  Don't be be put off by sour reviews. This game was amazing!

Thanks to Simon and the team for having us. 

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 17 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivefamily friendly
There’s not much I can add to all the glowing reviews I’ve read.  I’ve played quite a few magic rooms but this is one of, if not, the best one so far.  Wonderfully immersive, some lovely effects and all in keeping.  The room looks beautiful and you do get to perform some actual magic!
imrahil experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
PurpleB experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: Jan 2020 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

Great room: awesome set, well-themed puzzles, and it all ties together really nicely.

🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Laura McGill expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 28/09/2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 35:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
Lise Mortier expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2018 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

We loved every second of this escape room! So many unexpected turns and unseen riddles/puzzles, we loved it. There is one part of the escape room that absolutely blew our minds and really put us into the atmosphere of the room, (but no spoilers, try it yourself). Our host was amazing and followed our rule of "no clues unless we are ALL asking for one", he even named it the Cluelios spell to stay in theme. 🙂 This is an incredible magic room which doesn't have that many puzzles but get you thinking throughout 60 minutes and sometimes you might even just find yourself admiring the room as the decoration and props are just unreal! We loved the Magician room in Stockport Moviescape and thought it would be hard to get another Magic room as good in Great Manchester-ish but Lucardo succeeded in that challenge!

magicalbacons expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Chris Tyler-Wood experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 27 Jul 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 27:01 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulmagicalquite easy

Really pretty room! So much to look at and all the puzzles just makes sense, just wish we hadn't flown through it so quickly!

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingfamily friendlymagical

Beautiful room! The theming was fantastic! Great hosting as usual with Rawtenstall, and you can see the time and effort that is put into all their games! The puzzles were all on theme and weren't too hard for us! Can't wait to finish the rest of the games!

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Magic School has proved wildly popular as an escape room theme, and Lucardo have one such game in each of their two branches. Instead of taking the easy route of duplicating a single game, these are two completely distinct games. (I guess it would make narrative sense to play the Manchester branch’s Entrance Exam first, but Dragon’s Heart is entirely standalone and we had no problem starting with it.)
While this entire genre of escape room owes an obvious debt to the Harry Potter franchise, thi...
The team at Rawtenstall continue to impress. A well delivered story, a fantastic introduction, a great entrance to the game, solid puzzles and plenty of theatre throughout the experience meant we left the game buzzing.
It’s been so long since we played Entrance Exam that I can’t really confirm or deny the rumours that say Dragon’s Heart is even better, but I can confirm that Dragon’s Heart is definitely superb and well worth the trip to Rawtenstall.
A truly magical room with lots of great special effects and beautiful theming. Our new favourite Lucardo game!

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also