Escape Nation: The Citadel

By | March 20, 2019

by Escape Nation (website)

1st Floor, 18 Martin Street, ST16 2LG

Stafford

2-6 players

60 minutes

The year is 2321, Earths population has spread out into space. Mega-corporations have built space stations throughout the galaxy.
You have not long arrived on-board a Citadel class space station owned by the Federal Defence Union (FDU). The main function of this Citadel is scientific research and development.
The night you arrived, the stations Artificial Intelligence (AI) was beginning to malfunction. And now, only one week later, the Citadel's main power has just shutdown, and the backup generator has come online.
The doors won't open, communications don't work, and you can hear some unusual noises from other parts of the space station.
Can you escape before the backup generator goes offline and you're trapped on-board forever?
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 40 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 11 users
combined with 5 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Tim Cooper expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 12 May 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 50:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalimmersive

My favourite of the two at this venue. I am usually a bit wary of Sci-Fi themed games because of the type of puzzles that are regularly involved. In this game, however, I was completely  won over by the flow of the game and the massive variety of puzzle types used throughout. It definitely felt immersive, fun and the puzzles were all logical. The kind of game an experienced team could quite easily get through without any hints and still feel accomplished at the end. Fantastic! My favourite Science Fiction themed game I've played to date!

matt_keds experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 18 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 47 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersive

#58

Another great immersive room, lots of puzzles and a wide variety of them. The set decoration is fab too, 10/10 quality. Lots of padlocks but they go unnoticed, even you’re not a fan of them, you’ll still love this.

Sabrina (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 14 Apr 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 44:19 Outcome: Successful escape!
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 11 Apr 2022 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
Siân O'Brien rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 14 Mar 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 56:41 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techcleverintense

This was amazing!! Get the admin out the way: The tech worked and the staff are lovely. The hints system is great and you can dictate it. The majority of puzzles were padlocks, but each puzzle was weaved into the story.

This was possibly the best room I've ever done. I think the story was so successfully tied to the theme and story that this makes for a great first escape room. If you've never done an escape room before, this one will make sense to you. You'll feel like you're in a movie!

If you're an experienced player, I still think you'll love this room. Even if padlocks aren't your thing, please trust me. This is interesting enough to get over that. And most importantly, from experience, it's well kept and works!!

A lot of other escapes we've done could learn a lot from these guys. This is the standard!!

abunai expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5

This is one of the best rooms we’ve played.  Very varied, loads of puzzles that kept you occupied for the whole hour.  

Richard Sinden rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 25/09/20 Team size: 2 Time taken: 57:23 Outcome: Successful escape!
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Katherine Gordon rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 23/02/2019 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

A hat tip here to the review blog Brit of an Escape Habit, since without their recommendation I probably wouldn't have decided to make a stop at Stafford on my journey north, and in the event I very much liked both the town and the escape room.
Escape Nation's first game is set in space, and The Citadel is the name of the space station on which you find yourselves. Naturally, all is not well. Genre traditions demand that if you have a shadowy interst...
A fun, sci-fi-themed game with good theming, really enjoyable puzzles and moments of humour. If you’re in the area then it’s well worth dropping in.
With an impressive narrative driving the game forward, tasks hinted at what might have befallen the Citadel. Strong puzzles, great GMs and strong narrative, The Citadel was incredibly enjoyable
When things ‘click’ in an escape room, it always makes a room more appealing. As a group of 4, it was surprising that we all seemed to gel with the puzzle flow and the use of logic in the room. This was one of those rooms where you kept seeing new puzzles that were yet to come, which can be distracting as you get excited about the puzzles still to solve, whilst you are still figuring out the previous puzzle. 

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review expert

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also