Doomsday Games: Pathogen

By | April 17, 2021

by Doomsday Games (website)

1st floor Global House, Moorside, CO1 2TJ

2-8 players

Languages: EN

📹remote avatar
90 mins
The year is 2035. Humankind is on the brink of destruction from a deadly pathogen. The world as we know it was wiped out within a matter of months, leaving the global population at just under 20% of its pre-outbreak state, and the infection rate is increasing rapidly. Humanity is about to disappear... forever.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 40 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 15 users
combined with 4 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

msilcox expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2 Oct 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 95 minutes Outcome: Failed 🙁
story-drivengreat hostingintensequite difficult😨creepy

Our interactions with the very pleasant host really made this experience.  There is a LOT to do, so make sure that you keep moving along in the game.  In particular, the last "act" had more to do than we expected, which is why we technically did not finish in time (the host very kindly less us finish up).  One nice aspect was that it was possible for team members to work independently on some of the puzzles, which is rare for a remote avatar game.  And it was very much necessary, or we would have been even more over time!  A good mix of puzzles, which made use of our group's various strengths.  Definitely recommended!!

Darren Miller expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 3 Jul 2021 Team size: 2
Fun 90 min game with good puzzles and a funny host (Dani).  One gripe is that progress required quite a bit of searching that didn't necessarily translate well over camera.  Also leaned heavily into Telescape which was fine, but made it hard to split attention with the camera for the searching part.  Despite this, we had a great time playing.
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
value for moneycleverimmersive
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 29 Apr 2021 Team size: 4 Outcome: Failed 🙁
hi-techgreat hostingintensequite difficult
Even in the remote world, most Avatar led rooms are still 60 minutes so playing a 90 minute one was already an attraction.  The story/theme might not be overly original but the theming of the rooms was on point throughout and looked great.  Dani was out Avatar and handled the game superbly and was a lot of fun to play with.  The implementation of some of the puzzles in Telescape is one of the best I've seen in nearly 170 online games.  It's not an easy game though, certainly in the last section make notes!  We were a team of 4 experienced online players and we failed with seconds to go at the very last puzzle and yet I'm not sure which part slowed us down.  The Telescape interface is also the games biggest weakness, it's an incredibly co-operative tool but where it lets multiple people work on the same puzzle but this then means you have multiple people trying to make changes and I've seen near arguments sprout from this.  A common puzzle in Telescape is the jigsaw, but everyone wants to solve it, and realistically only 1 or 2 can.  There are some puzzles in this game that (IMHO) didn't need to be on Telescape and they could have been done by the remote hands of the Avatar and that would have been my preference, as I've said elsewhere, I want to play the room, not the interface.   That last paragraph may come across as overly negative but this game still has a lot of positive points going for it and is well worth your time but make plenty of notes!
Emma N experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 1 Aug 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 84 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-drivengreat hostingquite difficult

Wow what a room. I really like the 90min room to get absorbed into the story. I really felt like I was in a lab and the equipment to use was brilliant. 

Such a fab and funny way for hints and they were perfectly pitched .

I love that things were not just padlocks and numbers. I really liked the realism of the room and some of the ways of finding your next clue.

Fab hosting and looking forward to their next room opening.

Danielle expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 15 Jul 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenintensequite difficult😨creepy

I thought this was a great room. I loved how ‘real world’ it was, the puzzles fitted so well.  We only just got out within the 90 minutes, there’s a lot to do, especially as a pair so go in with energy! I’d be super excited to play their next game, the owner clearly designed this with a lot of thought and love. 

c2creviewer experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 12/10/19
Tim Cooper expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 75:14 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-drivenquite difficult

Absolutely one of the best games I've played and cannot recommend it enough! This game doesn't get nearly enough credit for how awesome it is and I urge anyone to play it!

🌵Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 26 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 71:51
funnyimmersivegreat hosting

Very enjoyable with a particularly strong start and end. Excellent clue system and lovely GM from family run company. One particularly well designed puzzle towards the end of the game. Looking forward to their upcoming new game. 

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

The 60 minute time limit is near universal for escape rooms, with only a handful of longer or shorter games in the U.K. As it happens, every extended length game I’ve played has been at least very good - perhaps because longer games tend to be less profitable for venues, and therefore building one is a sign the owners are more focused on the experience they’re providing over the revenue they’re earning. Either way, Pathogen is a rare 90 minute game, and I’m pleased to say it fits the trend, in t...
A fantastically fun game with a beautiful opening scene, varied but good quality decoration throughout, a novel clue system, fun challenges and some cool theatre within the game. If you're vaguely in the area, then I'd recommend you drop by, because this is a gem of a game.
In a market filled with 60-minute games, Pathogen is one of the rarer 90-minute experiences, and it certainly sets the bar high. The game was highly immersive, with excellent theming, and clever puzzles
The room itself was incredibly well designed and put together, with plenty of little easter eggs if you’re geeks like us. Everything, including the clue system, was perfectly on theme the whole time.

See also

Other versions of this game:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)