Escape Quest: Mr Copplestone’s Curiosity Shoppe

By | July 30, 2021

by Escape Quest (website)

Chapelgates, 84b Mill Street, Macclesfield, Cheshire, SK11 6NR

Macclesfield

3-10 players

£20.00pp

Languages: EN

60 minutes

closing soon

Mr Copplestone aka “The Professor” is an inventor. His greatest invention is the world’s first time machine, built so he could travel through space and time to find interesting objects and life saving potions to sell in his curiosity shoppe.

The time machine is powered by Time Echo Crystals, these crystals are rare and only a small quantity exist in the world.  Without them the time machine won't work.

Such a precious commodity must be stored & guarded carefully to ensure the future of time travel can continue. There's just one problem with that - Mr Copplestone!

He may be a genius, but he's the most forgetful man you could ever meet.  This morning when he opened his box of Time Echo Crystals he found only one left inside, where could he have put them?

Mr Copplestone and his wife Margaret live on Chapel Street in the year 1873.  We can't rely on Mr Copplestone finding the missing crystals alone so if you're brave enough to jump into his time machine and use the last remaining crystal we have to head to 1873 you could save the future of time travel.

. However the time entry vortex is weak and can only stay open for one hour, get back inside before it closes and bring any crystals you find with you so we can keep them safe back in the future ready for our next time travelling adventure.

show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 45 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 18 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Adam Bravery experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 29 Jun 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 30 Time Echo Crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersiveintensequite difficult

Fantastic game with non-stop action and superb puzzles. Set design was spot on and our host Elaine was super friendly and gave helpful nudges when needed. Perhaps wish it was less padlock heavy but generally you knew which puzzle related to which padlock and all the puzzles were great fun, clever, and well signposted. Otherwise can't fault the room; it's amazing and absolutely worth playing. 

abooth expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 23 crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven

This game is flawless. It's got a set like nothing I've ever seen. Honestly the less I tell you the better.

Chris Tyler-Wood experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 6/2/2022 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersiveepicquite difficult

My new favourite room! Unbelievable theming and awesome gameplay. Escaped with 27 crystals!

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 3 Apr 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 22 crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyimmersivegreat hosting

Had an absolute blast here. There is so much to do in this room that none of us stopped throughout the whole game. 

The set design was incredible and gave some incredible immersion. 

Our host made it even more memorable and a total pleasure 

Do not miss this game 

Exotic Turtle experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 3 Apr 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 22 crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
Joe Brown expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 2 Apr 2022 Team size: 4
A massive set with a tonne to do made this a special room. Lovely hosts!
A Puzzle Guzzler rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 12 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 26 crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hostingquite difficult

This was my 95th escape room and it was so good that it has motivated me to finally set up an account on Escape The Review so I can rave about it!

Friendly and welcoming hosts who clearly have a passion to deliver the best possible escape room experience. 

The room itself? Just wow. A huge variety of puzzles, enough to keep two experienced puzzlers busy for a full hour, the Curiosity Shoppe is beautiful, funny and clever. The theming is superb and after an hour we were still left wanting more. 

Can’t wait to go back when the second room in their Chapelgate Mysteries series is open…

flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hostingintensequite difficult

This game is immense. I loved every single minute of it and did not want to leave.

Great for beginners and enthusiastic alike due to the concept of the game. All teams will escape but how many gems will you escape with?

Great level of challenge. Very immersive and a whole lot of fun. 

I thoroughly recommend any team to go play this game as it is one of the most in the UK! 

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 14 Apr 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 26 Crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersiveepic
Molly Minerva experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 25 crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting

Flawless. The most beautiful, immersive and well-constructed game we have ever played, with incredible hosting to boot. This is the gold standard of escape rooms.

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Escape Quest in Macclesfield was one of the first operators in the UK. Mr Copplestone’s Curriosity Shoppe is quite a unique and challenging scenario for up to 10(!) people. I would recommend three to five players.

I particularly liked the game concept where all teams, regardless of experience level, are fully engaged for the entire 60 minutes. Given the non-linear puzzle structure, this applies to every single player! Puzzle lovers will get their money’s worth here.

This is a NEW review for the 2021 Newly opened version of Mr Copplestone!

The puzzles are brilliant and varied; the space is visually stunning; we had one of the most fun escape experiences we have ever had with this room; Mike and  Elaine have created a super original; innovative concept with this room; the game is exceptionally immersive and we can’t think of another room quite like it! As they are outstanding in every category for which we award, we have decided to award Mr Copplestone’s Curiosity Shoppe a Badge of Honour, our highest award, which we think is incredibly well deserved for the hard work and love Mike and Elaine put into their rooms.

See also