Make Your Escape: The Signal

By | March 20, 2019

by Make Your Escape (website)

First Floor, 4 Osmaston Road ('The Spot'), DE1 2HR

Derby

2-6 players

60 minutes

Following reports of strange lights in the skies over Derbyshire, your team intercepts a distress signal, which leads you to an abandoned military bunker.
Once the door closes behind you, you quickly realise the signal was not all that it seemed, the bunker was not abandoned and you are not alone.
Work together as a team to solve the puzzles and escape.
The truth is in there....
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 35 and 40 out of 5

based on ratings from 15 users
combined with 7 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Pagan Hollis experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 12 Jul 2016 Team size: 4 Time taken: 50:01 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingfamily friendlyquite easy
flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

Not the best.

One Maths puzzle was beyond ambiguous and left all four of us frustrated.

One puzzle was interpreted incorrectly, when we asked for this explaining, our GM said that their printer cartridge was low on ink so the colours on the 2 props didn't match up properly.

Disappointing.

matt_keds experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 22 Feb 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 44 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivenfun theme

#42

We spent the day and did all 4 rooms at Make Your Escape, and had a brilliant time!

We started with The Signal, which is a really fun Area-51 themed room. Very original out of the 40+ rooms we have done, the story was quite linear and had a few very fun puzzles. Set decoration was on point and the fact you have to make a decision in this room that determines the story was brilliant! Donโ€™t miss it!

abunai expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 31 Oct 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 53:45 Outcome: Successful escape!
Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 17/10/17
Tim Cooper expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 22 Jul 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverstory-driven

Bonus points for the soundtrack played during this game, I was delighted to hear music from System Shock 2!

fraggle42 experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 52.38 Outcome: Successful escape!
๐Ÿ”James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 31 Jul 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 52:35 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hosting
A great linear game that takes you on an interesting story inter-weaving real life events based on local history.
MissLoopyLou93 experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 8 Apr 2019 Team size: 6 Time taken: 51:06 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersive

A good game. I usually play as a 2 so 6 people was too many for the amount of things to do in my opinion. 

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

My playthrough of The Signal went a little smoother than Chris's from the sound of it. I found it initially a solid but unspectacular room, with fairly standard office-style decor, one somewhat ambiguous maths puzzle but also plenty that I liked. However, it was a game that just kept improving as it went on, getting more creative and physical and impressive as it neared the end, with the conclusion being a memorable highlight.
Very few escape rooms give players a choice of ways to complete the ...
A fun game that took a little while to get going, with an interesting twist and a couple of real highlights. I wouldn't rave about the experience but if you're heading along to play Spellbound then it's a fun game to play alongside.
Dystopia and Utopia seem to get all the love at Make Your Escape, but The Signal is certainly worth a play, and ideal for those new to escaping. The Signal was also the first (I think) game in the country to present players with an existential dilemma that will directly impact the outcome of the game. What choice will you make?
The Signal has a twist, but itโ€™s revealed during the briefing, so Iโ€™ll consider it fair game to explain here. At some point during The Signal, youโ€™re going to have to make a choice, and thatโ€™s going to branch the game out in one of two different directions. On hearing that I was, at first, fairly cynical about it, picturing a computer RPG-esque โ€œpick your endingโ€ choice, but itโ€™s actually a lot more subtle than that.
A fun game that features a fairly unique choice element that affects the ending of your game.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also