Online Escape Rooms Ireland: Spirit Seekers Ireland: The Clare Abbey

By | April 25, 2021

by Online Escape Rooms Ireland (website)

1-6 players

Β£17.00 €20.00
Public booking: Β£17.00 €20.00 each

Languages: EN

πŸ–₯digital

You are joining paranormal investigators, "Spirit Seekers Ireland", on their investigation of the Clare Abbey ruins in County Clare, Ireland.  Your team must capture at least 4 pieces of hard evidence of paranormal activity and get this evidence to Professor O'Connor of Trinity College Dublin.  It is of vital important to make this a successful mission.

You will be visiting the real Clare Abbey ruins via virtual 360 views!

show full description

Promotional offer

30% off with code MAY30

30% Off any of our Play-at-Home online Escape games until the end of May 2022

Overall rating

Rated between 30 and 40 out of 5

based on ratings from 15 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

bbrydsoe rated this:
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 5 Time taken: 55 min Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersive

It was relatively easy to do things in the game, even if it was a little hard to figure out what to do. Technical aspect of it worked!

grgeorge rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 17 Mar 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 1 hour Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulvalue for moneyimmersivequite difficult

Really good fun. Novel use of a real abbey ruin. Challenging puzzles. Cant wait to do part 2!

AdamEscapes rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 13 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 1:20 Outcome: Successful escape!

Lovely setting, great to see some real scenes from Ireland as I love the times I have spent over there personally. Some of the puzzles seemed slightly illogical, although others were clever.

Telescope is pretty ubiquitous and I'm not sure that is a good thing, it would be nice to see a game that has an original style of play.

Not sure it's worth he price tag at €20, half the price would be about right really. 

escapequeen rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Team size: 4
beautifulillogical

My group and I have played around 10 purely digital escape games, and this one was somewhere in the middle, enjoyment-wise.  The use of a real abbey is very cool, but the puzzles weren't great.  Several of them just involved placing an item in a space, and if you weren't perfectly centered, it wouldn't go in, leaving us to think we were doing it wrong.  We ended up using a lot of time wandering the many rooms to solve things we had already solved or hadn't solved for the wrong reasons.

gaia00 experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2
value for money
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 2 Oct 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 1 hour 40 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
clevermagicalquite difficult

I enjoyed it! It was interesting and entertaining! 

Chris Todd rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 1 Oct 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 1:40 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulvalue for moneyoriginal😨creepy

Some tricky puzzles, but very fun. Would recommend for the price.

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
value for money

Good puzzles with good variety.

Anne expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 25 Apr 2021 Team size: 2

Cool game in a beautiful setting. Personally I prefer games with a bit less ground to cover (more compact game area), but you couldn't argue with the historical setting and cool ruins. We loved the tour. Puzzles were nice but we would like to have seen the inventory being more visible and easy to access. 

Tech worked well - this is a game built on telescape. 

While I would recommend the other games by Online Escape Rooms Ireland first, this game also scratches the escape room itch.

GregoryOR rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

With increasing numbers of digital conversions of physical escape rooms emerging, The Clare Abbey is an innovation that seems obvious in retrospect: why limit yourself to digitising your escape rooms when you can digitise any environment and turn it into a game? This game is set in the historic ruins of Clare Abbey in West Ireland, and uses a set of 360Β° views photographed on-site. Hotspots provide close-ups and clues, as well as navigating between locations. You additionally have a very helpful...

Let me explain the concept: The Clare Abbey is a real life location in Ennis, Ireland that has been converted into a virtual escape room experience. You play a team of ghost hunters and you must journey there to solve puzzles and… You guessed it: Catch ghosts!

As a history nerd, this was always going to be appealing to me. Real architectural features are employed and digitally manipulated for puzzles and (presumably) new sections are virtually added too 

See also