Phantom Peak: Phantom Peak

By | September 30, 2022

by Phantom Peak (website)

Surrey Quays Rd, London SE16 7PJ

East London

Languages: EN

up to 270 mins
different
Wheelchair suitable - contact the venue for details
Welcome to Phantom Peak, known far and wide as the Venice of the West! In this fully-realised steampunk mining town, nothing is what it seems…

What is hiding in the vestiges of the mines? What does the charismatic founder of corporate JONACO really seek in this sleepy town? Was the Blimp Crash really just an accident?

Dine, shop, play games, go sightseeing, collect clues… explore the town and uncover its mysteries at your own pace for up to five hours in an immersive open-world adventure the likes of which you’ve never seen before!
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4.5 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 15 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 31 Oct 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 4 trails Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven

Weird, wonderful, exhausting, entertaining, daft and downright ridiculous, Phantom Peak is an immersive experience not to be missed.

Is it an escape room...? Well, no... but this should by no means put escape room fans off going because it has so many elements of the theatre and story element that we love in escape rooms.

How to describe it then? It is an immersive town that you can explore at your own pace with live actors who you interact with through trails (accessed on your phone) to bring the experience to life. You can do as many or as few trails as you like and can have a drink/eat your way through the food menu/play games at your leisure. There's an opening and a closing ceremony to tie the four hour experience together but this really is something where the more you put in, the more you'll get back. If you're not keen on interaction and on throwing yourself into a role, then this might not be your cup of tea but if you are game for speaking to characters and immersing yourself in this platypus-obsessed world, then you are on to a winner.

Going over Halloween meant that we were there for the Lunar Festival and the town was suitably themed for spooky season. The decor really is superb and the actors go out of their way to make the whole experience feel genuine.

The trails themselves require very little puzzle-solving and a bit more of a challenge would be very welcome but the object here is to immerse yourself in this steam punk world and go on a few adventures along the way. It's a totally unique experience.

Karen Peers experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 24 Oct 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 3 trails completed
funnyimmersivegreat hosting
Dan Getliffe rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 13 Oct 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 2 trails completed
value for moneyoriginal

This was good fun - not really an escape room but an interactive trail-following adventure where you meet different characters along the way. 

I find these experiences difficult to get immersed in, and a part of me gets stressed that I won't see all the trails and find all the secrets in the town. However, if you can get past that (which I eventually did), there's fun to be had here from the little pieces of info that you do find around the (quite big) area. 

Tech is used pretty well, and was impressed with the food, although there was a lack of variety in sweet options (summer might be better). 

My main issue is with the trails - they are not really puzzles. More, go to A and speak to B, what did B say?, then go look at C, what is written on C, etc. It's not particularly difficult to solve so you are more just wandering back and forth the same bit you've been up and down 10 times already, then entering the obvious into your phone. I think it's fine and I can see why they've set it up like that, but I was expecting a bit more. 

There are worse ways to spend 4 hours though, and I think it's worth doing once - set design is immaculate and actors are great so worth it for those alone. Not enough here to encourage repeat visits for me however (how is it going to be that different from time to time?). 

Steph Norchi experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 15 Apr 2023 Team size: 2
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting

Fantastic experience. Totally unique from anything I have done before and hillarious from start to finish. The actors were all amazing and I was completely immersed. Well worth a visit if you fancy something different!

elfgrunge experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 9 Sep 2023 Time taken: 3 Trails + 2nd Place Film!
beautifuloriginalimmersive
d.green26 expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 10 Oct 2022 Team size: 3
immersivestory-drivengreat hostingquite easy
StaceyF expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
originalimmersivegreat hosting
Lotsa Locks experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 28 May 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 3 quests completed
immersivestory-drivenfamily friendly
🏆Annagramma expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 22 Apr 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 2 trials complete in 4 hours Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenepic
Viv Cassidy rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 18 Dec 2022 Team size: 2
value for moneyimmersivegreat hosting
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Phantom Peak is a wacky place that has a strange obsession with Platypuses, and it works. The cool Wild West Steampunk vibe, cool machines, great cast, and obscure missions all come together to form the perfect family/friend/work/romantic experience.

I absolutely loved our time, and I will absolutely be returning, but there were definitely a few niggles here and there which will hopefully be ironed out as the experience expands. For a start, we heavily relied on my phone, which meant the battery ran down quickly. Luckily I had packed a portable charger, but even then I was down to 30% when we left. For such a phone-heavy experience, I was surprised by the lack of charging stations in the town – I can imagine some rentable power packs would be a big hit here!

Slightly longer review than normal, and for something that isn’t actually an Escape Room… But the crazy immersive open-world adventure of Phantom Peak was one of the highlights of our year.

Get lost in the immersive world of Phantom Peak, as they open for 5 hours usually between the times of 5pm to 10pm on Wednesdays through to Sundays (Saturday & Sunday have a 11am – 4pm slot). The gates open to this open world right on time, so we recommend being early to maximise your time here. You may question is it worth 5 hours? Our answer would be 100% worth every single minute you can be here, if anything 5 hours isn’t enough and multiple visits would be needed to explore everything and solve each mystery. 

See also