Games played by James Bloodworth

Rating
Game
Company
Game
Location
Played: 17 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverfamily friendlyintense

You have boarded a submarine with lots of stolen treasure, how much can you claim in an hour?  Whilst technically an escape room (you have to escape at the end!) this room features an awful lot of puzzles packed into a large space, solve a puzzle, get treasure!  There are so many puzzles, ranging from the logical, to the physical to the high tech.  An awful lot of fun!

Played: 17 Jun 2021 Team size: 2
immersiveintense

Another well themed room from Compendium, this time investigating a mental asylum.  Be warned there is some crawling in this room with some surprises along the way.  The room is well done and a nice logical flow to it.

Played: 17 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersive

You’ve been tasked with finding a cure to a virus (quite timely as I write) and you have to investigate a lab to find.  This is a more physical room with a wide range of dexterity and some mental puzzles mixed in.

Played: 17 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersive😨creepy

Being trapped in a serial killers cabin isn’t the best day, I know, it’s happened an inordinate number of times!  This room features a lot of the usual tropes but if presented in an interesting and well used space.

Played: 17 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivefamily friendly

There’s not much I can add to all the glowing reviews I’ve read.  I’ve played quite a few magic rooms but this is one of, if not, the best one so far.  Wonderfully immersive, some lovely effects and all in keeping.  The room looks beautiful and you do get to perform some actual magic!

Played: 17 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hosting

Well themed and with an intriguing story line, some clever puzzles all strung together quite logically even though one looked initially quite daunting.

Played: 5 Jun 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 67:12 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersive

Wonderful theming coupled with a very hi-tech set of puzzles.  One puzzle irked slightly as it seems it has a random solution but the other puzzles.

Played: 5 Jun 2021 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
clever

A solid Telescape based game with some interesting variations on puzzles I’d not seen before.  There is a good flow between puzzles and definitely a couple of moments that will make you stop and think.

Played: 22 May 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
Played: 22 May 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
Played: 22 May 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
Played: 22 May 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
hi-techimmersive
Played: 20 May 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersivegreat hosting
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyoriginalclever

One of the standout  digital games that I’ve played, interesting mix of puzzles including some that require a degree of 3D thinking.  If you like the new wave of digital games then there is a lot to like with this one.

Played: 2 Apr 2021 Team size: 6 Outcome: Failed 🙁
originalclevermagicalquite difficult

Most Escape Rooms will tell you that you need to "think outside of the box", but this is game almost embodies that saying.  It's hard to give too much away as it's such an original concept and excuted so well, it's almost like one of my other favourite rooms, Loop, once you realise whats going on (it's not the same as Loop!).  There is no inventory (it's not needed) and video was done via Zoom which was stable throughout.  This room is hard to classify as it's such a unique take and as such may provoke a marmite reaction, I loved it though even though we failed on the very last puzzle.

Played: 9 May 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 00:43:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneycleverfamily friendly

Fun digital game, good value for money.  Some quite tricky puzzles mixed in with some easy ones as well a couple needing good teamwork.  Easier than Uncle Artemis but I think that game pips this one but only just.

Played: 6 May 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 43:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven

Just stunning

https://www.escaperoomers.de/reviews/immaterium/

Played: 4 May 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 46:44 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneycleverfamily friendly

I’ve played a few remote “Box” games, this is where focus of the game is a single box, often with multiple locks and compartments.  This is one of the better ones, some clever puzzles and ideas that were cleverly implemented.  Audio and Video were stable and all handled by Zoom.  The theming is pirates which is a winner for me and all the puzzles were in keeping.  It’s always great to be surprised by clever games, and this did several times.

Played: 29 Apr 2021 Team size: 4 Outcome: Failed 🙁
hi-techgreat hostingintensequite difficult

Even in the remote world, most Avatar led rooms are still 60 minutes so playing a 90 minute one was already an attraction.  The story/theme might not be overly original but the theming of the rooms was on point throughout and looked great.  Dani was out Avatar and handled the game superbly and was a lot of fun to play with.  The implementation of some of the puzzles in Telescape is one of the best I've seen in nearly 170 online games.  It's not an easy game though, certainly in the last section make notes!  We were a team of 4 experienced online players and we failed with seconds to go at the very last puzzle and yet I'm not sure which part slowed us down. 

The Telescape interface is also the games biggest weakness, it's an incredibly co-operative tool but where it lets multiple people work on the same puzzle but this then means you have multiple people trying to make changes and I've seen near arguments sprout from this.  A common puzzle in Telescape is the jigsaw, but everyone wants to solve it, and realistically only 1 or 2 can.  There are some puzzles in this game that (IMHO) didn't need to be on Telescape and they could have been done by the remote hands of the Avatar and that would have been my preference, as I've said elsewhere, I want to play the room, not the interface.  

That last paragraph may come across as overly negative but this game still has a lot of positive points going for it and is well worth your time but make plenty of notes!

Played: 18 Apr 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneygreat hosting😨creepy

Some interesting spins on old puzzles make for some fun times, probably won't stump enthusiasts for long but there's still entertainment to be had with this room.

Played: 20/4/21 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

It's been interesting to see the progression of virtual games using the telescape interface.  This is a great implementation of a great looking room (can I play this for real when able?).  The story tells you that you have inherited the key to your uncle's study and you have to unlock the secrets.  Pictures are clear and the puzzles are mostly logical in progression.  One niggle I had is that it's not clear where the hotspots are in the 360 overview so you have to wave your mouse around watching for the icon to change indicating you have found a hot spot.  This is a lot of fun to play with some clever puzzles that require both deduction and a degree of thought.

Played: 20/3/21 Team size: 2 Time taken: 1:29:06 Outcome: Successful escape!
Played: 23/7/20 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!
Played: 8/5/20 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
Exit The Room Online: Prison, (unknown location)
Played: 5/4/21 Team size: 2 Time taken: 37:59 Outcome: Successful escape!
Played: 2/4/21 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

Excellently implemented telescape game, most puzzles are on point and themed well. 

Played: 21/3/21 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

I will admit I had issues with part 1, we solved some of the puzzles and weren't sure how, the non-linear nature made a for a confusing time.  This though, was much better.  The video work in conjunction with the puzzles all added to great effect.  Probably one of the best online games I've played, looking forward to parts 3 & 4 when they come along.

Played: 20/3/21 Team size: 5 Outcome: Failed 🙁

Interesting setup but this is a hard game, not having been changed in any aspect from the live version, we failed due to a search fail (after we lost time for another search fail) which, when we found it,  I still think was a tad unfair for a remote room.  If we'd actually been there then I think we would have stood more of a chance.  Audio/video was excellent throughout as was Georgie (our Avatar).  Inventory was telescape based but nothing that was used was taken away so it built up as the game progressed.  There are some excellent puzzles here and theming was on point throughout but the search fail did leave a slight taste in the mouth.

Played: 20/3/21 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!

Phenomenal combination of story, theming, avatar interaction with excellent video and audio throughout.  Highly recommended.

Played: 18/3/21 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!

When a great Avatar turns a good room into a great room!  Fantastic experience.

Played: 28/2/21 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

Southend's games always have good strong puzzles often putting a different spin on existing ideas, good stuff!

Played: 11/2/21 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!

Delightfully whimsical room with a lot of cat related puns.  Mostly linear with a lot of padlocks.  'Mabel' was a joy to play with from beginning to end.

Played: 11/2/21 Team size: 5 Time taken: 44:52

This place had been recommended to me by the team at Escape Peterborough but then Lockdown #3 (or was it #2?) happened and I'd not had chance but jumped at the chance for a remote play.  There's a nice puzzle flow to the game as it is nicely linear with a couple of great puzzles.  Video was Zoom with a managed inventory via Telescape that worked well.  Our Avatar was friendly and engaging and prodded us the couple of times we got stuck, had a great time!

Played: 8/2/21 Team size: 2 Time taken: 50:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
I am a sucker for a bit of theatre in a room, and this room delivers a lot.  From the opening moments to the shocking ending, there are a few surprises waiting for you.  This room has recently been converted from german to english and there are still some german cosmetic elements in the room but this does not detract from the game play.  Video was with zoom and was clear and stable throughout, there is no inventory system.
Played: 6/1/21 Team size: 5 Time taken: 46:58 Outcome: Successful escape!

The second offering from Escapologic offers another well themed, taught and initially bewildering experience.  Another outstanding room, theming is on point and some thoughtful puzzles, highly recommended.  AV was Zoom/Telescape and was excellent throughout.  One hint: read everything.  Twice.

Played: 20/5/20 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!

A fabulous looking room, well themed and a great avatar throughout, a room I would love to play in real life!

Played: 5/2/21 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!

Firstly, what an amazing looking room, this definitely falls into the category or rooms I would love to play for real.  We had some technical issues with this game which has slightly marred the experience, there was a lot of audio issues at the beginning and the quality wasn't great throughout.  The Telescape inventory never engaged and we had to make do without it.  This game also makes use of a cameraman following the Avatar so you always see what they are doing.  The puzzles were very on theme and excellent throughout, the Avatar was also excellent (I never caught her name) and stayed in character throughout (even when we were having problems).  I think we were just unlucky and the tech gods frowned on us that night but I would still recommend the room.

Played: 3/2/21 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!

Once again, a well themed room with a combination of tech and traditional padlocks.  Some clever observational puzzles all themed around basketball which is some kind of sport I'm told but thankfully no indepth knowledge is needed to play the game.  AV was all Zoom based with a simple inventory system that you unlocked when the avatar gave you the password but this was only limited to a few items.

Played: 2/2/21 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!

Another top notch room!  A pirate theme is one of my goto's and this does not disappoint.  Theming is excellent throughout.  Audio/video was delivered by Zoom clear and Maddy (our avatar) was excellent throughout.  Inventory was a separate web page where you entered passwords (as given by the Avatar) when you found various items and this gave you better views to help solving the puzzles and worked well.

Played: 31/1/21 Team size: 5 Time taken: 43:49 Outcome: Successful escape!

A good solid room with some clever puzzles.  Video was Zoom and Inventory was Telescape (although in its current form it's arguably almost not needed).

YouEscape: #10: Colors part 2, (unknown location)
Played: 27/1/21 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁

Over the course of the previous 9 games I've always enjoyed the inventiveness of the puzzles and the way websites are manipulated.  We had succeeded all previous games, the the first part of this game by mere seconds but we were not so lucky this time.  We spent far too long trying to figure out what to do in the first part even though we tore through the second it was not enough and our first loss here.  

Played: 23/1/21 Team size: 5 Time taken: 51:54 Outcome: Successful escape!

A classic video arcade plays to a lot of my favourite themes from growing up.  Thematically this room is great, theres a combination of tech and padlocks as well as several puzzles that don't usually appear in an ER.  This is also a hard room, don't take less than 4 and ideally 5 as there is a lot to do.  This room crosses my line of playing too much in the inventory as opposed to playing the room, with the amount that there is to do it was probably the only way but I didn't really enjoy it.  Video was good and inventory was telescape, our host was Leanne who was fantastic throughout.

Played: 23/1/20 Team size: 5 Time taken: 00:54:00 Outcome: Successful escape!

Can you rescue a spacestation before its reactor explodes?  We were accompanied by Matthew (ourAvatar) as we tried to save the space station.  This was a fun experience where the Avatar made it that much more fun.  There was no inventory system and the puzzles had a good flow to them.

Played: 23/1/21 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46:18 Outcome: Successful escape!

A fun filled twist on a well-used theme.  Puzzles are mostly padlocks and deduction based but there are some clever ideas here.  Video was good and inventory was by Telescape.  Once again they have produced a fun room that can be deceptively hard.

Played: 22/1/21 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

Not quite an escape room but takes it inspiration from The Crystal Maze and its similar ilk.  You take your team through a series of puzzle led by a gamesmaster, who was excellent throughout.  This would be a great game to play with the family, but some external knowledge may be necessary for some parts.

Played: 15/1/21 Team size: 5 Time taken: 53:49

Escapologic’s oldest room has been converted for remote play, does it work?  Resoundingly Yes!  They use the increasingly popular combination of Telescape and Zoom but the Telescape inventory is managed so when things have been used they disappear.  Video was good and stable and the room is well lit.  Our Avatar was Ed and he was great fun to interact with.  I have a couple of minor niggles with the interface but they are massively minor.  There’s an awful lot to like here, puzzle flow is good and we were rarely stuck.  Recommended.

Played: 1/2/21 Team size: 5 Time taken: 51:42

There is a really good room idea here, theming is excellent, puzzles are interesting but suffers from a lack of an inventory system in parts and using a GoPro in the zoom which adds a 2ish second gap to the proceedings which can be frustrating.  Avatar was excellent and was receptive to all comments made.  

Showing 50 of 260 games